We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok....”

Crich Tramway Village
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derbyshire’s award-winning family attraction lets you enjoy unlimited tram rides in a recreated village street along the mile-long track to breathtaking views. Plus play areas, shops, tea-rooms and 30,000 square feet of indoor attractions. A relaxing day out for all ages! Please note we are closed between 2nd November 2015 and 18th March 2016.
Swanwick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its ok....”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You pay once and can go all year but they are really picky about this as I went once in summer 2012 then returned October 12...and my signature was slightly diffrent to the one I did first off and they really was humming about letting us in....
But its nice I'm sure you couldn't spend a whole day there but there's loads to do in the surrounding areas...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    449
    87
    38
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out for young and old.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's a fantastic place with lots to do. The first great thing is you pay once and then you can go upto a year for free !!!!!! There are unlimted rides on the trams and at each stop there something different to do. There is a mine/woodland walkway/olde world e shopping street. There is also a museum that shows you the trams through the ages and themed weekends from scooters and bikes to vw's. A must for all the family and go all year round. x

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“out of the cold”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

have just visited crich tramway museum again great venue/day out but.......this attraction is badly
in need of somewhere to eat your sarnies /picnics on the cooler days as venue is open all year.
an example is eden camp which has a great resturant/canteen but also has quite a few indoor
places you can eat your own food i'm sure they would benefit from this facility ninefold and
it would encourage many more people to go out of season and on the not so good days

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper derbyshire
Level Contributor
273 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Didn't expect much but we had a great time”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Halloween night, but to be honest didn't fancy it as I didn't expect much. How wrong we where. This is a great place very educational for all ages and it didn't have that staid museum feel, the guys that manage and maintain this place must be very passionate. The trams were fascinating. Siting outside the pub with a glass of real ale watching the trams go by the old buildings really did make you feel you were time traveling.

The only thing that let it down was the cafe. Far too small for the amount of people the tramway museum can handle. Maybe better in the summer when one can take a picnic.

We look forward to taking the grand children in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank booleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One for all the family”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the tramway village (formally tramway museum) lots of times and have always found it interesting and value for money.
The tea room staff are pleasant and the food reasonable pretty much what you expect to pay at tourist attractions.
The tram drivers and inductors are very informative and passionate about the voluntary role they perform.
The 1940s weekend is brilliant and a real step back in history and normally served spam fritters and other war time food makes it a real ambiance.
The work shop shows you how they restore the trams and is very informative.
The Halloween theme night is a real pleaser and so are the Santa specials.i think even though the initial charge seems quite expensive the value comes because you can go back all year except for special events so my idea is to go on a special event and then use your ticket until the following year so getting real value for money then as its valid for a full year from when it was purchased.
Enjoy your trip back down memory lane because let's face it they won't be here forever.

Helpful?
2 Thank Desciple0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crich Tramway Village also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Crich Tramway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing