We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes closed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak District Lead Mining Museum

Peak District Lead Mining Museum
Ranked #14 of 42 things to do in Matlock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out about the lead mining heritage of Derbyshire from Roman Times to the present. Interactive exhibits, mock tunnels and shafts to climb, moving models. Then visit Temple Mine and find out what it was really like working underground followed by a try at gold panning. Suitable for all ages. Family ticket £20 (2A and 3C)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Sometimes closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was best when my son was little, because I could then use him as an excuse to climb through the 'mine', a wooden tunnel in the museum, and work the chain water pump. Useful history of leadmining in Derbyshire.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Much better than first impressions give.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

An amazing record of the lead mining industry dating back to Roman times. Who would believe people ever lived and worked in such conditions.
The children were kept amused with the many simulated mine tunnels, glad we went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glad I'm not a lead miner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Mining museum is a must see! We visited on a Sunday and it was quite busy.
The museum itself is very interesting, lots of exhibits including a beam engine, There are a few working models for those who like pushing buttons
The highlight of the tour is a guided tour of the Temple mine - we were a big party - about the maximum - too many really.
The mine is over the road and uphill - only a few quite strenuous minutes away.
Once there you are issued with helmets - the tunnels are low in places and even a "shorthouse" like me had to bend over a lot - in spite of that everyone banged their helmet.
Its a bit chilly down there so an extra layer is worthwhile. Its also a bit wet underfoot and slippery in places so good stout shoes are recommended.
It gives a good insight to the conditions the old miners worked.
After the mine tour there is a chance to pan for gold - everyone found a few bits
Excellent tour and guides

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredbrituk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kids like it too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We didn't have a guide and none was suggested to us, but we had a whale of a time here.
The kids loved the play tunnels (and I had a go in them as well), a well adjusted museum, with honest down to earth experience.
Much better than the stone museum, whose prices in the shop are higher as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ysdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All you ever need to know, and more, about Derbyshire's metal mines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

As an engineer, I'm always fascinated about knowing where my raw materials have come from. We were driving from Derby to Bakewell and saw the sign outside so decided to stop and find out what they had on offer inside. It's fascinating! An excellent display of artifacts that have been recovered from old mines (the size of some of them and the stories of how they were recovered has to be read fully...) and the hands on models of how the equipment of old worked are really excellent.

Altogether an amazing museum. I asked the receptionist how long it would take to go around as we were a bit short of time. About an hour she said. Well we came out into daylight 2 hours later... Even my wife enjoyed learning about things that go on below ground!

They have an excellent bookshop specialising on mining - well worth a browse.

Well worth making a trip to visit. Next time we're in the area, we'll have to make time to visit the actual mine close by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peak District Lead Mining Museum also viewed

 

Been to Peak District Lead Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing