We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here in May and were so impressed that we stayed an extra night. Our room at the top was so pretty and the view of the river and the beautiful garden topped it off. The staff were very attentive and the food was scrumptious and plentiful. Thank you for a lovely break.

Room Tip: A rear room overlooking the garden/river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finbargrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the view over our garden and river frontage. Great to hear that our staff looked after you and you enjoyed our breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 329 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

My son Ross and I stayed on Fri 30th May to attend the Dollshouse Miniatures Fair at the Imperial Rooms.
We couldn't have found a more perfect Guest House, with a perfect location to the town.
A stunning house with everything running very efficiently and with top notch customer service.
The house wraps you into 'welcome' and the decor is absolutely gorgeous.
they have thought of every aspect to make people comfortable and feel at home. Providing well kept and decorated rooms, hallways, breakfast area and lounge, all beautifully decorated and with many of the home's original personality. They have kept many of the original period architecture which is stunning to see.
the room (room 6) at the top was stunning and perfect for us.
The location is set slightly back from the town and so very quiet and pretty. Lovely gardens with a river running beyond. Easy access across the river by footbridge into a large recreation park and all the shops. Wished we could have stayed longer (work commitments).
We most definitely recommend Riverbank :)))

Room Tip: Would not know as we didnt see other rooms. but we loved our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkminx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and were so happy with your room.Hopefully you will be able to return and enjoy more of this beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a mini break here just after Easter. We were wonderfully welcomed and looked after by our hosts. The house runs amazingly smoothly. The house is elegant and filled with artefacts and paintings which evoke times past. Breakfasts are extensive: I almost ate a whole one! Meals were accompanied by popular classical music. As others have mentioned it is located close to several good restaurants - cheaper, but good, pub food is also available a few minutes further away. The house overlooks the river at the back. The front of the house overlooks a cul-de-sac. So, quiet. Almost idyllic. Our room had a view of the well designed and groomed garde; En suite, tv, tea and coffee, WiFi. My only complaint was that our room mirror, especially by the end of the stay, made me look fat!!!

Room Tip: The garden/river view is excellent, so ask for a rear room if that is what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your comprehensive and delightful review. We are thrilled and appreciate you taking the time to express your enjoyment of your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked in to the Riverbank B&B for A two night stay. This was a lovely stay as my very close cousin and her husband are moving back to America, and for the first time in 10 years all the "adults" were able to escape away for a two night stay in the Peak District! The rooms were lovely (ours was a top,floor overlooking the river and back garden). The food was excellent, and local, and our hosts so friendly and amenable! The house was lovely, and a very short walk to great restaurant's and lovely antique shops. My cousins husband went for a run along the river, and our hike through the hills were beautiful. The hosts couldn't have been more accommodating, or friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello Sarah, thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to have hit the spot and appreciate your comments. We are well situated in many aspects and there is a lovely scenic walk along the river, ideal for walking or an early morning run.We hope you will be able to enjoy another weekend in our guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here in Nov 2013 (so sorry for the late review!) - It was my husbands 40th and after speaking to the manager when booking he arranged for my hubby to be able to fish the River Derwent at the bottom of his garden (brown trout/grayling) the next morning - Thankyou - he loved it!! We were very impressed with the guest house and really cannot think of any negatives - from the moment we arrived until we finally left ........ with the AA (our car broke down outside the front door) everything was spot on!!

Room Tip: Photo's of rooms are on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review Mrs Morton. It's always a privilege to have been part of a special celebration and we are so glad your husband's birthday was so enjoyed. It is a bonus being on the banks of the River Derwent and are delighted that you made the most of the fishing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Arrived Friday afternoon and stayed through till Sunday. Very friendly owners and staff. Looked after my pregnant wife making sure the eggs were well cooked and everything was spot on. Lovely location and nice places to walk nearby. Excellent Italian restaurant about 3 mins walk away called Viva Italian. Highly recommended. Thanks for having us and sure we'll see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_evans76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you both and we wish you well . We thoroughly enjoy meeting our guests and making their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went from Good Friday to Monday. Cannot fault this guest house at all. Everything about it was lovely and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I will go back again in the future. The guest house was situated very close to the train and bus station, close to a lively park with a marvellous tea room (afternoon tea for two highly recommended).

Room Tip: Very close to station and a beautiful park out the back. No noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $125 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing