We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thank you Riverbank for a lovely weekend stay at your friendly B&B. Felt so welcome on arrival and loved our room overlooking the beautiful garden. A walk in the garden is a must with lots of lovely plants and shrubs to admire and if you're lucky you might bump into a friendly duck! Our room was nicely furnished with very comfy bed and a spacious ensuite. Like previous reviews, the towels ARE so soft, amazing!! Nice touch to have complimentary bottle of water and scrummy choc biscuits. Breakfast is ordered the night before and arrived on time, well cooked and with great service! Location is perfect just on the river and adjacent to a lovely park. There are some good restaurants and pubs nearby for evening meals. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B and hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: We had room 7 overlooking garden. It was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jehinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Wonderful that you appreciated our garden and our lovely Matlock Park. It is so rewarding when our effort is noticed and enjoyed. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    64
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
156
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandlers Ford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Friendly nice and clean with great staff and lovely breakfast. Nice location for the area. We went to Bakewell, Hardwick Hall,Haddon Hall and The Heights of Abraham all within easy reach.Would certainly return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Park59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you managed to see so many of the wonderful attrcations near to the guest house. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rooms clean and very homely. Owners could not do enough for you - breakfast was wonderful, location was wonderful -would stay here again without a doubt. Ideally situated for visiting Chatsworth. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphinlover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Chatsworth House is one of the many attractions easily accessible from our guest house and we are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lovely, welcoming B&B. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, breakfast was excellent and the location is ideal. There is also a brilliant garden with a summer house and a spot to sit right on the river.

Best of all was the very friendly atmosphere and the feeling that we were very much at home. Felt totally comfortable relaxing in the house in the evening and Graham and Jenny went out of their way to accomodate our odd arrival time and cycling needs. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidM-D84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Cycling is popular in this beautiful area and we are happy to welcome cyclists to our guest house. Prior arrangements with our guests allow us to be flexible regarding our check in times. We are so glad you enjoyed our garden and the river frontage. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The door opened to reveal a smiling face and the door closed with a friendly goodbye and the whole stay needs an encore. The location is very handy as a short walk will take you to everywhere you need to go. Everybody, including fellow guests, were relaxed and enjoying themselves. The atmosphere was perfect.The rooms were very clean, comfortable, cosy and nicely decorated with lovely views of very well kept gardens. My bed was comfortable - I even had no issues with the pillows which is unusual for me. After a very well cooked breakfast, croissants appeared out of the blue as an invitation on the house! What a lovely gesture! I, as a solo traveller, would feel really happy and safe returning and hope to do so to see the Matlock illuminations and the other sites I missed. Well done, Riverbank!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so happy that your stay in our guest house was a pleasurable experience. Our aim is to make you feel welcome and comfortable and we pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Remember to book timeously for the Matlock illuminations. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Riverbank is just that - with views of the river, town and hills beyond. We had a room with the most enormous bed, extremely well equipped with luxury goods far higher quality than price and 'guest house' usually offer. Breakfast was to die for! The best scambled egg and smoked salmon on a toasted muffin for me, and full English for him. All served with a smile.

Room Tip: Suggest travellers ring rather than book online so that you can choose a room to suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apersson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our guest house for your stay in Matlock and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sounds like you enjoyed our famiy room with the kingsize bed.We are so happy that the breakfasts hit the spot and your stay was a good all round eperience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A beautiful victorian house in a perfect location next to the river. In the heart of Matlock and a short walk to Matlock Bath. Lovely house with well presented bedrooms, breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend and would come again. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaDjalalvandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. It was lovely to meet you and we are delighted that your stay was happy and enjoyed.Our central location is such a bonus and makes for easy access to restaurants and neighbouring towns and villages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
290 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing