We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, thank you!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, thank you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The guest house is in a great location for walking into town and to the station. Easy to find and plenty of parking. Welcoming from the very beginning. Jenny and Graham and their team are full of information and advice. We stayed for the weekend to go to a wedding and found we couldn't get a taxi to Matlock Bath, all fully booked, Graham took us! That's above and beyond and we appreciated it so much, thank you! The room was very comfortable (if a little dated decor wise) but that is absolutely my only very small niggle and completely personal preference! Lots of choice at breakfast and very yummy. The garden and surrounding area is lovely. A great stay. Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to make your stay a memorable experience. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    60
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
146
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My car borke down en route, I was late for a wedding, stressed and the B&B hosts came to the rescue! They recommended a good repair garage, waited for my arrival, let me in, booked me a taxi and I made it to the church moments before the bride arrived. They were utterly brilliant! The B&B is lovely, it's in the middle of town, but quiet and overlooks a pretty river. The rail stattion is five minutes walk away. The breakfast is good. The bedroom was lovely and had a sparkly clean, modern en suite shower. And the hosts . . . absolutely top marks!

Room Tip: If you ask nicely you may get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyannaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We were so glad to be able to help you sort out your car and get you to the church on time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ideal location. We felt at home as soon as we walked through the door. Bedrooms extremely comfortable and clean.. Breakfast delicious. Graham and Jenny made us feel very welcome.
We wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pillingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are so happy that you will be back and your stay was happy and enyoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a very comfortable king size bed in room 10 overlooking the pretty garden which backed onto the river. Room was clean and well equipped, hosts were very friendly & accommodating and there was plenty of choice on offfer for breakfast. Great location in quiet cul-de-sac close to Matlock town centre where we enjoyed dining at the Indian and Italian restaurants. Would thoroughly recommend for a short break.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlisonR908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Our recently re-decorated room 10 has a king sized bed , a single bed and a fold down futon which makes it an ideal family room too! Our ample complimentary parking and close location to restaurants and shops , makes for a relaxing time.Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay,central to Matlock town centre,but secluded and quiet.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and thick fluffy towels.Our hosts were very welcoming despite a mix-up with the Internet booking site.
The breakfast was delicous and everything you could wish for,we look forward to a return visit and will recommend this excellent B&B to our friends

Room Tip: Room 9 with 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We look forward to your return visit and are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Riverbank Guest House having stayed for two nights at the same time last year. The location is perfect. We travelled by bus and Riverbank is just a very short walk away either along the main road or as we did, a lovely walk through the park. Last year we were really impressed with the Thai restaurant which is a minute away so booked before the weekend as it gets busy. Jennie and Graham are so welcoming and helpful and the house has a lovely feel. Breakfast is great with lots of choice. The garden was as beautiful as ever and a lovely place to sit or to stroll around. What better recommendation could there be than to return and I am sure that we will stay at Riverbank again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was wonderful to welcome you back for your second visit and we are thrilled you enjoyed our garden and hospitality. Hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely setting, excellent hosts; extremely friendly and gave us numerous ideas/suggestions what we could do whislt in Matlock and the surrounding areas. Breakfast was very good with many options to choose from.
Room was clean and very adequate and had a lovely view of the garden.
Would definately recommend the Riverbank Guest house to anyone who wishes to stay in Matlock.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are thrilled that your stay was a wonderful experience and you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing