We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, quiet, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, quiet, comfortable”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We came here for a quiet weekend away and it met all our needs.
The location is quiet, yet very convenient for Matlock town. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. There was a good range of options for breakfast and the food was tasty and well presented The staff are very attentive. If you need anything, just ask.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you had a super
weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    64
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
153
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very friendly, helpful owners / staff.
Yummy kippers and poached eggs for breakfast.
Very comfortable room.
Pleasant evening by the fire in lounge.

Room Tip: We had a larger room but then didn't get view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us. Eight of our rooms have views of the river. If you come again, try the salmon instead of the kippers ; yummy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here last weekend. Very warm welcome from jennie and graham who could not do enough to make our stay perfect. Fantastic location to explore derbyshire. Rooms, decor, breakfast all excellent. Would thoroughly recommend and will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackymalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Riverbank House has been here since 1860. One of the first houses built. We are fortunate to live here ourselves. To share it with guests is a bonus. So glad you loved it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had an excellent stay a Riverbank. The owners and team were very friendly, our bedroom spotless and comfortable. We stayed in a family room which had ample space for a huge double bed plus a single. The location is quiet and peaceful yet just a short stroll away from the shops and several excellent restaurants. Nice lounge for guests with a welcoming coal fire. Recommend x 1000!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Popular room overlooking the garden with space for another bed. For a family, its ideal. Hope to see you again. Remember, the house is often booked as a whole for larger groups, or bigger families. Thank you for coming. Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This really was. From the greeting to making the fire for us to the beautiful rooms, great breakfast and expert,friendly advice on where to go...next time in Matlock we'll come here - thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkTonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
There's nothing like a roaring fire at this time of the year. Thank you for coming. If there is a next time, try the summer and our beautiful garden. Your weekends are about relaxing, (or, if your really keen, do a bit of weeding with me)!! We appreciate your review. Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here last weekend. There is nothing at all that I could possibly say as a negative.
Great choice of breakfasts. Everything was cooked to perfection and served so efficiently We were made to feel so comfortable and very very welcome. The rooms were large, furnished and decorated in keeping with the period of the property. Beds and bedding superb. We relaxed in the warmth of the sitting room - gorgeous coal fire! The house is ideally situated for visiting so many of the wonderful places in Derbyshire as well as Matlock itself. Spacious shower room with gorgeous large fluffy bath towels. Graham and Jennie really are the most hospitable of hosts. It would certainly be my first choice again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a beautiful large window over-looking the rear garden and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Graham and I thank you very much for the lovely review. This is our home, and we try to make it a welcoming place for everyone who stays in it. It was lovely to read your comments. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent one night in this guest house and arrived much earlier than our check-in time, but were welcomed and shown to our room immediately. the room was lovely and clean and very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended for a cosy weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to receive guests prior to the check in time of 4pm. if we are here, and the rooms ready. We do have to go out, you were lucky that weekend. Travelling by train, always let us know of the arrival time so we can arrange drop off at least, of luggage. We really try to please. Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 51 in Matlock
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing