We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will certainly return when next in Matlock.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will certainly return when next in Matlock.”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This welcoming and elegant guest house was just what we were looking for over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is obvious that we are not the only people to have appreciated the hospitality and comfort of Jenny and Graham's lovely house and delightful river bank setting.The excellent reviews on this site are all spot on and were what tempted me to book in the first place. We will certainly return when next in Derbyshire, the breakfasts were another treat!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    62
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
149
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

After carefully selecting a location for a short vacation I found the Riverbank House to fit all my needs and as soon as I arrived it was clear that the home from home as I came to call the house by the river exceeded my expectations. The friendliness of the owners was the first most obvious attribute of the household - they treated everyone as if they were very welcome guests not fee paying residents! It is so ordered that you may be tempted to think you were the only guest, that is until you see the no vacancies sign and go down to a particularly good full English breakfast; which in of itself will keep you walking all day, it that's your intention. You have a good choice of breakfasts, you may eat like a bird, or dine on kippers, your choice!
The best B&B I have ever stayed in in a beautiful part of the Peak District with excellent communications to all other parts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

If your looking for a cosy, relaxing place to spend a few days look no further than Riverbank guest house. Jenny and Graham were lovely hosts - friendly, genuine and very helpful. The breakfast was fresh with plenty of choice. The bed was comfortable and the room was fully equipped with everything you would need. The location was great. We were in a quiet, residential area close to the town. We had a very relaxing stay and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelamatJalan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband took me to Derbyshire for a surprise birthday present to celebrate my 40th recently and, unsure of the area, were delighted when we arrived at Riverbank. Although we were early our hostess, Jenny, could not have been more helpful and attentive checking to see if our room was ready (which it was!) and also advising my husband on the perfect venue for dinner that evening. She even took the trouble of booking a table for us as the restaurant gets very busy and also advised us on the places to see in Matlock so that we could make the most of our afternoon. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was superb and Jenny's interaction with her guests make you feel like you're part of the family. It's evident that both Jenny and her husband take pride and pleasure from having people in their home which makes your stay all the better. We will definitely be visiting again!
Joanne and James Neep

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the garden as you get to see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Riverbank Guest House and were warmly welcomed by Jennie from the moment we arrived. Although minutes away from local transport and the shops and restaurants Riverbank is tucked away like a little oasis. Our hosts Jennie and Graham passed on lots of local information and advice about local restaurants. The guest house overlooks the river and the lovely park is just over the bridge. As two women travelling alone it was nice to be given this local information, especially about places to eat. One evening we dined at the Italian restaurant and the next evening at the Thai restaurant. Make sure you book especially at the Thai restaurant, it gets very busy. We loved everything about Riverbank, it was just so homely and welcoming. The room was lovely as were the breakfasts and it was great to get a decent cup of tea. And if that wasn't enough, check out the lovely garden. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

One of the best we have ever stayed in, very very clean, food excellent Jenny and Graham one of the lovliest couples you could ever meet, made us feel very welcome and gave us plenty of advice of the local areas. from Ron and Caroline Fav.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Extremely kind and friendly welcome from Jenny and Graham in their wonderful guest house. Nothing was too much trouble and we all enjoyed a relaxing couple of days in lovely surroundings, also making use of their beautiful gardens! Jenny was spot on with her suggestions of where to go and Grahams fabulous breakfasts set us up for the day! We enjoyed the warm sense of humour from our hosts and would definatley recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing