We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, lovely place lovely people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I booked at the Riverbank for two nights as we wanted to look at the local Indigo furniture store, what a great choice it was too as Indigo was literally 150 yards away....This guest house is in a superb location with own car park, great views, lovely room,extremely nice hosts and the breakfasts were superb, nothing is to much for Jenny and Graham.
Shops are just round the corner which you can get to by walking through the beautiful park which is out of the guest house turn right and your there across the footbridge over the river...Basically a real find, central to everything with a great Thai restaurant just round the corner, aptly named Thailand No 1.......Which was fantastic. If your heading to Matlock give the Riverbank a ring and book in....Def value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

We arrived minutes after the Tourist Information office closed and just took down the names of a few accommodation that were listed in the window to try our luck. The garden across the street tempted us over for a stroll. As we headed back along the river, we spotted a B&B sign on the opposite river bank so we tried our luck. Jenni kindly offered us a small 'discount' as it was more than what we intended to pay. We had a lovely room upstairs with steps to the back garden n river. Place is well maintained. Traditional English breakfasts served by Graham, a most friendly and obliging host. Wish we had more time to enjoy the surrounding area and have a picnic on the grounds.

Eby & Mary Klix, Singapore

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_E_Klix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We only stayed for one night, but the room was lovely, very comfortable and with a lovely view onto the river. We were greeted by very friendly staff, and breakfast was great- highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank jenzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Having just spent three days at Riverbank Guest house, we cannott say enough about the quality of this place, Hosts. accommadation, service, food (breakfast) was five star all the way through. This was our 3rd visit to Riverside and we have booked to go again in June 2011 and will possibly book for New year period 2011/2012. If you are wondering where to stay in the Matlock area THEN THIS GUEST HOUSE IS A MUST.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhos_on_SeaJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The location is just great. The room is clearn, neat and cozy. B&B owners were so hospitable and very attentive to our needs. Breakfast was prepared just the way we liked it. We love the personal touch. Truly a very memorable stay for us. We will be back to this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippyracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Only stayed two nights but found the B&B ideal for our needs, good breakfast, rooms clean & tidy, location good for touring the area.
Off road parking great no worry about leaving vehicle.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wells063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed in this BB for 4 nights and it was a great experience for me and my husband. The location is excellent, 10 minutes from train station. The owner of this BB are very helpful, polite and friendly. Rooms are decorated in victorian style. Nice comfy bed, clean room, toilet is small but OK, complementary soaps, shampoo were provided, towels were changed daily, traditional English breakfast, it also has a lovely garden next to river bank where you can enjoy the lovely nature. I would definitely recommend this BB.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj_arian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
0.5 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $125 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing