We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better and better”
Review of Matlock Meadows

Matlock Meadows
Ranked #15 of 51 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Matlock Meadows is a modern purpose built ice cream parlour and coffee shop set within a working dairy farm. The farm has diversified by making italian style hand made ice cream here on the farm using the fresh milk from our dairy herd. The coffee shop serves 15 flavours of ice cream, also sorbet's, ice cream sundaes, a range of hot and cold drinks and snacks, giftware and local produce. We have a small outdoor play area and in the adjacent field and barn we have a micro pig, sheep, chickens, cows and calves. We are a real working dairy farm rather than a major visitor attraction. We do not charge any entrance fees and therefore rely on the income generated from the shop sales to maintain our facilities which include outside play area, free car parking, toilets, and baby changing. The farm has disabled access and facilites and can accommodate educational group/school visits also childrens birthday parties.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the area between the 29th of August and 8th of September and visited Matlock Meadows 4 times for an ice cream.

Ice creams were outstanding as usual, staff lovely and animals in great condition. The piglets were adorable.

We are now counting down the months until our next visit.

1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Matlock Meadows this morning after hearing about the farm through a friend.

We did feel a little silly at first being the only people there without very small children but we were soon distracted by the amazing ice cream on offer in the cafe. The cafe offers a selection of food, from sweet to savoury, including ice cream in a whole host of flavours. We opted for the sundae to share (3 scoops of ice cream, brownie pieces, sauce and sprinkles) which was really good particularly the raspberry ripple flavour, along with two hot chocolates.

The cafe was warm and comfortable and the staff were great. I also thought the prices were reasonable.

We were pleased to see that while we were enjoying our ice cream and drinks the micro pigs that roam freely had returned so we had great fun trying to get up close to them. They are extremely cute! There's also sheep, chickens and rabbits outside, along with cows and baby micro pigs inside.

I imagine if you have small children this would be a great place to visit (what kids don't love animals!) but we loved it too.

We spent just over an hour there and we will happily go back again, if only to try more of the delicious ice cream flavours!

A great free attraction with cute animals and ice cream. It does exactly what it says on the tin!

Thank minnie3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

What a brilliant place. Lovely little cafe with great ice cream on a proper working farm. Lifted my spirits just to come up the drive. It's a farm with a cafe. That's what it is. If you want Alton towers it's down the road.

Thank Phil_in_wolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely cafe, part of a working Dairy Farm. I'm not entirely sure what people expect for free these days, but the little ones enjoyed being able to see a few animals after they had eaten there ice creams, would certainly visit again. It does what it says on the cover, it isn't trying to be an all weather all day attraction for children, just a simple cafe and ice cream seller with the added advantages of a few animals to keep the youngsters (and to be honest their Mums and Dads) amused.

1  Thank circussal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Manager at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - you have clearly understood what we are about and your comments are both accurate and much appreciated. We take on board all comments and understand that we are not suited to everyones tastes particularly those looking for a big exciting action packed day out. We are as you describe - a working dairy farm set within the peaceful derbyshire countryside with an ice cream parlour/coffee shop and the addition of the farm animals and pets for people to have a wonder round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Travelled a long way with our one year old to be very dissapointed on a bank holiday. Very little to do there, even the sheep looked fed-up.
Inside there's cows and a few broken cages with rabbits in and the place stinks.
The staff are rude in the cafe, no card machine and non of the ice cream flavours as advertised online on their page are stocked.
Waste of the 10 minutes time it took to go around.

Thank bellakitty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Manager at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are really sorry you were disapointed with your visit. We do not aim to be a major visitor attraction - we are a free admission working dairy farm with an ice cream parlour/coffee shop with access to micro pigs, sheep, rabbits, chickens, cows, calves. Most of the animals respond very well to friendly people especially the sheep as they have all been hand reared making them very friendly so we apologise if they seemed less happy than usual. We are very much still a working farm therefore it will have smells associated with it for which we cannot really make any apologies for as this is where the food we all eat comes from. Matlock meadows is a farm diversification which has been a 3 year project at considerable cost - the coffee shop car park and facilities are all new, unfortunately some of the animal pens are not new (only one is broken and has no occupants) however they are fit for purpose but just a little aged. We do not have a debit card machine but there is a sign on the door stating cash only - sorry if this has caused offence but we are trying to keep our costs down by not having one. I apologise if you found our staff rude - without specific details or actually being informed at the time of any poor staff encounters it is difficult to comment but we are usually a very happy team willing to engage in conversation with customers. Lastly in response to the ice cream flavours as advertised on our website we are a little puzzled as - 8 of them were actually on display on the day of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matlock Meadows also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Matlock Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing