We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ice Cream was the Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Matlock Meadows

Matlock Meadows
Ranked #13 of 43 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Matlock Meadows is a modern purpose built ice cream parlour and coffee shop set within a working dairy farm. The farm has diversified by making italian style hand made ice cream here on the farm using the fresh milk from our dairy herd. The coffee shop serves 15 flavours of ice cream, also sorbet's, ice cream sundaes, a range of hot and cold drinks and snacks, giftware and local produce. We have a small outdoor play area and in the adjacent field and barn we have a micro pig, sheep, chickens, cows and calves. We are a real working dairy farm rather than a major visitor attraction. We do not charge any entrance fees and therefore rely on the income generated from the shop sales to maintain our facilities which include outside play area, free car parking, toilets, and baby changing. The farm has disabled access and facilites and can accommodate educational group/school visits also childrens birthday parties.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Ice Cream was the Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited here with our 8 & 10 year old grandkids. They had some very young micro piglets which you could feed with some older ones running around outside in a pen. Not an awful lot of animals to see and you may be disappointed if that was the main purpose of your visit. We visited the cafe/shop to sample their ice cream. After all, this is a dairy farm and they make their own ice cream on site. Wow this was a treat. It is slightly expensive but the portions are generous with plenty of different flavours. I'd advise ordering small portions. Would have been interesting to see the ice cream making process. Maybe this something they have in their plans later.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_eltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Manager at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we are pleased you enjoyed your ice cream. In response to the ice cream being expensive we have a range of cones/tubs starting from £1 upto larger tubs/cones costing £2.95 so we had hoped that this covers most peoples budgets. To clarify for future potential visitors the amount of animals we have currently is as follows:- 9 sheep, 12 rabbits, 20 chickens, 4 adult micro pigs, 26 piglets (although some are soon to be sold) numerous dairy cows and calves - although this can vary depending on the season. There is a viewing window from the shop which people can look into the ice cream making room but we only make ice cream on certain days of the week and the machines are solid steel so apart from when the ice cream is being extracted there is actually very little to see and for environmental health reason we cannot allow people inside the ice cream room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaminster
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place- some misleading reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I feel that some of the reviewers are slightly confused about Matlock Meadows and what it is there for.

It is obvious when you go that it is a working dairy farm. The farmers have diversified and have started making their own ice cream, opened a Tea rooms and have got a small pet style area so that children and adults can wonder round the animals.

It is not a farm park, it is not intended to fill a whole day- the point of it is to go and get a ice cream, or something from the tea rooms and then have a walk round the animals if you want. It is FREE to look at the animals.

The tea rooms are lovely, very clean and well looked after. The food is great and the ice cream is divine, with a selection of cone sizes and types- they even do tiny cones for the little ones.

Please don't give them a negative review because they are not a huge farm park! Review them on what they are meant to be!!

We stay in the area twice a year and always visit Matlock meadows several times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you appreciate and understand what we are trying to create. Thank you for your valued custom, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went for an afternoon with my daughter and wife. Lovely home made Ice Cream in the cafe and the chance to see the cows that the milk came from. Micro pig piglets for sale which was nice, although my wife and daughter are now nagging at me to buy them one each. All set on a working farm which is open to the public as a farm on open farm sundays.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Good luck to the owners, I hope they do well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Called here on a day out with family for my birthday. It's was lovely, kind staff and very nice facilities! Will defiantly be calling again when in the area!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babyfarmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We keep going back here for our ice cream fix! Great flavours and friendly service and a lovely location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matlock Meadows also viewed

 
 

Been to Matlock Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing