We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for all ages”
Review of Peak Rail

Peak Rail
Ranked #12 of 45 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A must for all ages”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great time despite the cold weather. Adults and children of varying ages loved this good old fashioned experience. The ticket lasted all day so we made a trip in the morning then another later on as the children enjoyed it so much

A good buffet car and enthusiastic and pleasant volunteers who made the trip special

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    68
    37
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hazel Grove, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting place to see steam engines”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't pay to take a steam train ride, but we did have a look around at Rowsley Station

Not a lot to see really - but there was a steam engine that was running back and forwards with people paying to take a trip on the footplate

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maesycwmmer
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great staff, great trains and lovely steam engines. A great day out. Lots to see and do. Good simple food in the refreshment room. Couldn't fault any of it. It's easy to park the car at Rowsley and it's free parking. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited with my Wife and 3 year old Daughter (who loves Steam Trains). Excellent day out. If there is the slightest criticism, (and I may have missed them) but the shop could do more to advertise themselves on merchandise (mugs, Bookmarks, Pens etc), but as said, may have missed them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariestad, Sverige
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Day out on Peak Rail”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in Derby and got to know about tis train ride. We took the train from Derby to Matlock Station where we waited for the Peak Rail journey back and forth to Rowsley. At Rowsley was a shop with a lot of books about railways and trains. It was possible to buy some snacks at Matlock station but there is also a huge Sainsbury's just at the platform for the Peak Rail. For more info check out the website www.peakrail.co.uk

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peak Rail also viewed

 

Been to Peak Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing