We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house, great location”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous house, great location”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a short holiday at Thornleigh House recently for our extended family comprising 13 people in 5 small families/couples. We loved the house from the start - so much room for us all to enjoy being together around the huge table in the kitchen (with no shortage of crockery or cutlery) or sitting in the courtyard garden. But there was plenty of room to escape if we needed to - the spacious bedrooms (4 ensuite) were like a quality hotel. There was something in the house for everyone - games room for the kids, hot tub and sauna for those of us wanting to unwind and plenty of reading literature in the lounge on the top floor landing.

It was a huge bonus that the house was within walking distance of the lovely town of Matlock which made it easy for my elderly parents. The town has an interesting variety of shops, a really pretty park where we sat and sang along with the brass band on Sunday afternoon and nice walks into the hills surrounding the town that are a wonderful view from the house.

I'm sure we will be making a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rljcrljc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous house for a group of friends.”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a fantastic weekend in this lovely house with five other couples. Centrally located in Matlock so perfect for shops, restaurants etc but also great walks straight from the door. An easy walk by the river to Matlock Bath and The Heights of Abraham. We didn't use our cars at all. Had a lovely meal at Thailand No 1 on Saturday night - we booked 3 weeks in advance and were glad we did as they were turning people away all night. All the rooms were clean and spacious, the only downside would be the singles on the second floor having to go downstairs to use the toilet and bathroom. The hot tub and games room were brilliant and we have never stayed anywhere with such a well equipped kitchen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
1 review
“Fabulous Accomodation”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed as a family get together to celebrate New Year.. The house caters for everything..Nice fun had playng Pool or Table Tennis in the games room,Nice relaxation took place in the hot tub, Loved cooking in a massive Kitchen...Large table so great for a feast....Fantastic Location...Matlock has everything you need so we never had to drive anywhere..We used the bus or train as its right there at the ready for you..Shops pubs restaurants etc all in Matlock..Loved going for a run each morning along the river... It was still very Christmassy everywhere ...The local people are very friendly and always willing to help if you needed directions to anywhere...Matlock Baths is a 30 min walk away with nice views along the way so keep your Camera close by...I would recommend this to anyone who would like a family/close friends break..I bet it's just as nice in the summer time too...We didn't want to leave so you know it must be worth a stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranWake...
Wakefield UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab weekend had by all!”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thornleigh House was the perfect venue for our girls weekend away. When I first booked the house, I was concerned after reading other reviews about complaints over noise, especially for 12 loud girls who don't get out much! I had no reason to worry. So long as you adhere to the rules of being out of the hot tub and keeping the noise levels inside at a reasonable volume after 11pm, it's fine.

The house is well equipped with everything you need and the hot tub was enjoyed by all throughout the stay. It's in the centre of Matlock with all the shops, bars and amenities just a short walk away.

We used Strand Fine Catering to provide a in house fine dining service on Saturday night and I would strongly recommend the company.

A fab weekend was had by all and I would highly recommend the venue.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennlittl...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A group of 10 girls stayed here for a long weekend for a hen do and we were all absolutely delighted with the house and found the price extremely reasonable. Check in is from 3pm and check out at 10am.

Location firstly is excellent for Matlock town and is within very short walking distance (and Bakewell is a 15 minute drive). We drove to Bakewell and rented bikes to cycle the Monsal trail, which is well worth it.

The house is absolutely gorgeous, clean and very spacious. We all loved the fantastic, well equipped kitchen which had everything you might possibly require (including shot glasses, plenty of cups, plates, cutlery, pots, pans etc!) and the owners even left us a lovely welcome package! There are 6 bedrooms spread over 3 floors and most have en-suites. Everything is well decorated and maintained to a high standard. This really was a great base for a hen do weekend.

We throughly enjoyed the hot tub too and spent much of our weekend relaxing there.

We also recommend eating at Stones restaurant - lovely food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire118...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for big groups”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the best time at Thornleigh during our family reunion. It was really well equipped and clean (I am very pedantic about cleanliness). It felt like a home without feeling like you were in someone else's house.

The kitchen was fabulous, the 12 of us spent most of the weekend all sat round the table catching up and when we did go out it was so central everything was easy to get to.

I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhawkswor...
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thornleigh was lovely to stay at for my future daughter in laws hen party every one had a great time kitchen was great for everyone to get together and had a lovely meal at Viva Italian
All the young ones really enjoyed the hot tub and we booked a visit from the visiting spa which was fantastic and relaxing

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing