We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing place”
Review of Riber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riber Hall
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A relaxing place”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's in a very quiet location, just right for a nice short break to get away from everything. As has previously been said it's a bit quirky and could do with a bit of TLC here and there but that didn't spoil our stay. The nearest pub The White Lion was about a mile away down a very steep bank - fine going down and a bit harder going back! But worth a visit the food was very nice and they had a good range of beers.







Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeordieBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
105
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
daventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked with late rooms received all their e mails which said Riber Hall would send us a e mail ,as we hadn"t had it the day before we left home I rang the office and asked them if they would text my mobil as we would be leaving early next day didn"t hear anything.So went to the Hall at the time we arranged no one there tried ringing again no answer I rang late rooms and they where trying to contact them when the owner turn up and let us into our room.room ok clean the worst thing no hot water after a very hot day needed a shower .tried ringing next morning no answer got back in the afternoon expecting hot water none had a cold shower as been walking and was hot
We then saw another guest who said she had been ringing and getting no answer but had just got in touch with the owner and he had just put it on . lovely shower next morning the day we were leaving .Using a kettle to have a wash is not my holiday in this day and age

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I completely fell in love with Riber Hall and really didn't want to go home. I love the old fashioned décor, especially the four poster bed. It felt instantly homely and well looked after and well cleaned. We were lucky enough to get room four which I think is one of the bigger rooms and the slightly dim lighting makes it feel really cosy . The whirlpool bath added a lovely surprise luxury to the whole stay. The location is perfect being on the edge of pretty Matlock and Matlock Bath, near the A6 and therefore easy to get to all the main the tourist areas and yet being up a country lane it felt remote and away from it all for the perfect relax.
Being a self catering retreat there is no maid service (which personally I like because I sometimes find this intrusive) but we were provided with everything we needed for a few days stay including bathroom towels, toilet roll, toiletries, crockery and kitchen utensils, washing-up liquid and a hairdryer.
The grounds are really nice - there is a lovely big garden and a tennis court for guests' use.
Definitely book a room here - I am looking forward to returning one day soon!

Room Tip: I think rooms 4. 8, 9 and 10 are the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loubear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hall's location is gorgeous, and although it is only 5 mins drive from Matlock, you could be forgiven for thinking you were in the middle of nowhere!

We stayed in Room 4 which was at one end of the apartment building. It was very quiet and warm at night, and having the kitchenette and fridge made it easy to have a cosy relaxing time.

Our bed was 4 poster and very comfy. Giant duvets and lots of pillows too.

It is very much self service, right down to letting yourself in via a coded door from some emailed instructions. This was the only thing that let down our stay as it is nice to meet the owners and learn some good local tips for pubs and restaraunts.

Otherwise Riber Hall us a brilliant retreat for a quiet and relxaing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friend booked all the barn for his hen do. There were 20 plus of us, all the rooms were great with mini kitchen facilities and bathrooms. Very romantic with four poster beds, a little dated but all clean and suited to the setting. Each door has a lock as I guess they can be rented out separately. There was a large kitchen off the conservatory which we used for a buffet on the Friday night, large seating area and TV. Awkward that you have to go outside of the barns to reach though down some step slippery steps. We had fab weather on the Saturday so hosted a sports day on the lawn. We didn't venture on any walks as too busy with hen activities but fantastic location and easy to find considering how remote it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kel1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Quite an adventure getting to the apartments as they were situated high up around a very narrow and windy road not recommended for the faint hearted if you fancy a stroll into the village...be warned it gets your heart pounding!but once there your presented with very peaceful and tranquil settings...you really are taken back in time and feel your well away from it all...lovely gardens and conservatory easily acessed from the rooms...there was a tennis court to the rear with tennis equipment provided for the more sporty couples...unfortunately due to our typical english summer we wernt able to take advantage ...overall we had a very relaxing couple of days and the teddy bears on our bed just gave it that homely and welcoming touch hope to see you again 'Chocolate&Cookie' missing you already....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notasteisawaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A great little place for a romantic weekend. Situated in between the grandeur of Riber Hall and Riber Castle, which looks like it is currently being renovated. There is a tree lined cobbled driveway leading to the accomodation and ample parking. There are wildish grounds strewn with bluebells and the odd wooden bench leading to a tennis court that is not well maintained but added to the general quirkiness of the place.
We were greeted by the sweetest little black cat that clearly did not know it was a cat, it retrieved a tennis ball we threw for it and skipped about like a little lamb. We fell in love with it even though we are not really cat lovers.
The apartments are on two floors in one old stone block. There is a statue outside. We stayed in room 8 which looks out onto the back of Riber Hall, there are 10 rooms in all. There was a quaint little stained glass window which shone beautifully when the sun caught it and an old solid four poster bed, my only criticism was that the mattress was a little soft for our tastes. There was a complimentary bottle of wine on our arrival which was a nice touch.The en-suite is large with a fairly outdated and jaded bathroom with gold taps, accessories and a bidet. The bath had jets in it and was a foaming jacussi, it was fab. The room was probably, if I am honest, in need of a bit of a facelift but we tended to like it all the more for this. There was a microwave, cafetiere,toaster and kettle as well as a list of local take aways that deliver should you not wish to venture out. There was a flat screen tV and an i pod dock. WIFI was difficult although you could pick it up in the conservatory. This had seating for about 20 and a wood burning stove, games and a huge flat screen tv. It's reached via the garden which was well kept, a colossal lawn and lots of flowers. There was a seating area with wooden garden furniture dotted around and a couple of outdoor wall heaters. It would be a perfect place for a big group of 20 family or friends to hire for a get together.
It is close to the tiny hamlet of Riber village, Matlock, Matlock Bath and Bakewell. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
7.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Property: Riber Hall
Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing