We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good value for money, lovely location very cosy in the deep snow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riber Hall
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good value for money, lovely location very cosy in the deep snow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with this apartment.

The value was great, a nice little kitchen/dining area.

We did not use the conservatory with huge tv as you needed to go outside- and it was too cold!!

The bathroom was a bit dated but clean and fine.

The bed was massive and very comfy - we mega overslept!!!

Great quiet get away location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
105
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in apartment 10 and apart from a small issue of some dirt on sheets it was absolutely amazing, lovely bathroom and assess directly the garden everything you need for a romantic night away, we will definelty visit riber again. Location excellent, peaceful and away from everything.
We would highly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Champagnebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

To start with we didn't get the information email that is normally sent out (it must have got stuck in the spam filter), and so got to the apartments via the extremely steep route, which was a experience in itself. Once we arrived, we called the number listed on the door and spoke to a very nice young lady on the phone. Soon after a gentleman arrived to show us our apartment, it was very nice and clean with some lovely old furniture mixed with a beautiful four poster and just what we were hoping for. The room was nicely spacious and comfortable with everything we could need. If there was one criticism however, it would be for slightly stronger lighting in the bathroom, it did make showering a little awkward although the shower was a pleasure to use, unlike some i have tried to shower in, this one was roomy and not at all temperamental.
Overall it was a pleasurable experience which i would happy recommend to anyone thinking about booking and which i would repeat in an instance.
If there was one hint however would be to say that if you wanted to eat out in Matlock then to book in advance as everywhere gets booked up quickly.

Room Tip: check for emails from the hotel before travelling.....oh yes and go the long route it's easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed a lovely peaceful romantic break. Room lovely very clean and a nice kitchenette area with everything we needed. A bottle of wine on arrival and the breakfast bag was amazing loads of choice couldn't eat it all. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for one night and loved it.
The room was full of charm (room 7 ) and had everything you needed for a self catering getaway.
We woke up to a foot of snow after our nights stay and were concerned about getting home as this place is quite remote!
We didn't need to worry as on arrival to our car we found the owners helping to dig our car out of the snow! Very helpful!
Would definitely stay again but would pack extra clothes as room was cold(but this is to be expected with a building of this age)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed one night in November with my adult daughter as a break on a trip north. Bit nervous at first as although it looked great it seemed to be for couples and romantic. Need not have worried although I think there is only one twin room.
Easy to find just a couple of miles outside Matlock and a delight when we arrived on a dreary November afternoon. The lights had been left on and the room looked cosy with the little table laid for dinner.
Everything has been thought out. Fresh cloths etc. on the little kitchen area and lovely big bottles of toiletries. The beds are extremely comfortable and the whole place is cosy, so good in fact we stayed in and microwaved a meal. The bathroom was a good size and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Plenty of books and magazines as well as the T.V. Looked in on the conservatory which was great but a bit cold, I think we were the only guests that night. Plenty of parking too. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have stayed at Riber hall for over 11 years, we had our first date, lots of valentines weekends, then got married there, and anniversaries after that. It was my husbands birthday this weekend so we thought riber would be the perfect place as it had been closed for a while last year. When the snow came we were very apprehensive about the drive to matlock and also the hill leading up to riber. I telephoned the manager owner not quite sure what he is. He was extremely rude, arrogant, impatient not at all flexible. He put the phone down on me twice. All I was asking was what the weather was like in matlock as we don't have cars that can take a heavy snow fall up hills. He went on to tell me that his 4x4 was able to tackle the steep climb and that if I didn't get to the apartments I would loose all my money and that he would not transfer the booking to another weekend. He then put the phone down on me again. I had never once raised my voice or given any kind of attitude for him to react like this. He is without doubt the most arrogant, ignorant man I have ever come across. I feel he must be so very desperate to fill these apartments and must be struggling for money! The apartment was freezing cold, there was dried blood on the bedding. I would not recommend this place again to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Duchess1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Property: Riber Hall
Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing