We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hidden gem”
Review of Riber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riber Hall
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here as a couple looking for a getaway weekend not far from the Peak District and this was exactly what we found. Lovely clean room, bathroom and kitchenette. Nice grounds to use as you please, with some little tables and chairs in the garden which we used for a bottle of wine and game of cards on a balmy evening. Didn't see anybody at check-in or check-out but that was absolutely fine as we knew that would be the case, and location and arrival instructions were perfect. Came across some other guests briefly, who seemed as taken with the place as we were. Agree with a previous comment about the pillows - we too had to supplement the single pillow with cushions, so it would be a great addition to have two per person.

Room Tip: We stayed in Studio 9, which was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieLouiseV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner booked a night here as a suprise for my birthday - and it was absolutely perfect in every way! These are studio apartments, self catering and are in an extremely peaceful, tranquil setting surrounded by sprawling countryside and situated next to Riber Castle. We stayed in room 10 - which I highly recommend - definately worth asking for this room when booking, as seemed to be one of the best, with its own private doorway leading down from the bedroom onto immaculate lawns. The room itself was spacious with a huge beautiful four-poster bed, a table and two chairs with a lovely old gold gilt mirror hanging on the wall. The studio oozed charm and character with some areas in the rooms having exposed brick walls.

The bathroom was large and spacious with a shower, huge jacuzzi bath and his and hers sinks. All the facilities were spotlessly clean.

There is a small kitchen area, complete with microwave, fridge, sink, toaster and kettle. This is only small with basic facilities, but perfectly ample for a weekend break where you just want to rustle up light bites.

We visited (for both lunch and dinner!!) a local pub situated just down the road from Riber Hall, The Tavern at Tansley. (At the bottom of the road when leaving Riber Village, turn right and the pub is approximately 50 yards on the left.) We enjoyed the warm atmosphere and fantastic food here so much at lunchtime, we decided to return for dinner later the same day. In the evening, the tables were all covered with tablecloths, creating more of a restaurant feel, but with a very laidback and friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend visiting this pub for a bite to eat, the food is out of this world and reasonably priced - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

All in all, I cannot fault Riber Hall Studio Apartments, and would especially recommend them to those who lead hectic busy lives and are looking for a completely relaxing, serene getaway where only the sound of the wind and birds in the trees can be heard.

Room Tip: Room 10 is absolutely perfect with its own doorway leading down onto the gardens. This room has spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank leolady1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The earlier negative reviews need removing as they’re no longer relevant. Riber Hall Apartments are now self-catering en-suite rooms, as opposed to the accommodation’s previous life as a 5 star hotel – so please don’t be put off by the earlier reviews!
We were in two minds as to whether to leave feedback as it currently appears to be a well-kept secret and we will definitely be returning and don’t want it to become too popular…
Tucked away at the end of a leafy, wooded lane, in the tiny hamlet of Riber, this place is perfectly located if you like peace and quiet. Ample parking at the very end of the lane, and clear instructions emailed upon booking so you can access the building with a security code. Rooms 1-4 are accessed through the downstairs door, and 5-8 by the stone steps. Rooms 8 and 9 are tucked away in their own part of the building, accessed through the 1-4 corridor.
This place is perfect if you don’t want to stretch to a full-blown holiday cottage, but like the privacy and detachedness of self-catering. It is very hands-off (we didn’t meet any staff at all, though we heard the rooms being cleaned when other occupants finished their stay) and that’s exactly why we chose it. Feels like you're there all alone, which we think is fantastic.
We stayed in Room 8 which is at the top of the stone stairs, with a great view directly over the courtyard and Riber Hall itself (as I believe all rooms 1-8 do – only rooms 9 and 10 overlook the main garden). Yes the room did smell a bit damp/musty (but was clean), could do with a new carpet, and the little green velvet settee (though really pretty in an antique kind of way) wasn’t exactly practical for a comfy seat. But the bed was a proper solid 4 poster complete with canopy – not one of those ropey, rickety, pine affairs. As a previous reviewer suggested there needs to be 2 pillows per person. When we stayed there was only one each and we had to use the pretty decorative little pillows to supplement them.
Room 8 is one of the larger ones and a good size. It was warm and very quiet, and you can throw the windows open for some air and bird song. In addition to the bed and very low settee, there’s a wooden table and two chairs, and the kitchenette unit which has handwash, washing up liquid, tea towel etc a toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge and sink. 2 of all cutlery, plates, glasses etc, and a decent tea set etc. Perfectly adequate as there’s plenty of places to eat out and some Matlock takeaways even deliver to Riber, so no need to have a zapped meal in the evening. The bottle of wine and sweeties are a welcome touch, but I think they should get rid of the stuffed toy… seems a bit pointless, and well, odd.
The bathroom may be dated and avocado, but it was spotlessly clean, and though the over-bath shower wasn’t great for washing hair, the bath does have those body jet things (excellent for tired muscles after a long walk), and there’s even a bidet. Towels were clean, fluffy and ample for a couple of days stay. There is a notice explaining that extra sets are available for a £1 or so. There was also complimentary toiletries.
There’s also a wall-mounted TV with good reception, and a small cupboard for hanging items – actually a set of drawers wouldn’t go amiss, but it’s a small point.
The garden is beautiful and arranged so each table is set back into its own private nook with bushes in between, overlooking the lawn – so you won’t have to mingle unless you really want to. In fact, we barely saw anyone else out there and effectively had the whole garden to ourselves – fantastic! The garden furniture however could really do with a lick of paint and some remedial work. Some pieces are fine, but some were broken or rather grubby, so some attention here is necessary. The conservatory is very recently renovated and a nice place to read the papers or watch the TV if you’re waiting for a partner to get ready or the like.
The wooded area to the back of the accommodation is a lovely place to sit, and Riber Castle is right next to it (though it is now being renovated into flats, so there is no access). The tennis court is very secluded and a sun trap - would probably serve as an excellent private sun bathing spot if you’re so inclined.
Ultimately, the lack of refurbishment in some points is the price you pay (in addition to the reasonable room rates, of course) for what is a unique place to stay. No it's not 5 star accomodation anymore, but it delivers exactly what it says it offers, at a fair rate. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Room 8 is upstairs, nice view overlooking the courtyard and Riber Hall. One of the larger rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank three3cliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This is very much a hands off operation with a self check-in process. This info provided is clear enough and simple to follow. That is where the positive experience ends I'm afraid. This place might have some quaint charm attached to it but is very tired indeed in terms of the decor and overall maintainence. We were provided with an apartment which had a overpowering stench of the previous occupier's taste for curry. Not nice. There were other issues with cleanliness which was indicative of sloppy housekeeping. Don't be sucked in by the offer of sleeping in a four poster bed adjacent to a country house at reduced prices. We travelled to the area to visit Chatsworth and cancelled a booking in a Premier Inn in favour in Riber Hall which gives you an indication of just how far down the ladder of acceptability Riber Hall is. How stupid/unlucky were we ?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MacBrummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just arrived home from the Riber Hall Sudio's in Matlock. After having a lovely relaxing time.The studio's are finished to a very standard.
Everything is included for your self catering needs. The bed was so comfortable, but very high!! A proper old fashioned 4 poster bed, so romantic and sumptuous.
The bathroom was huge and of a very high standard, hot water on demand. everything was supplied for your own use right down to the shower gel.
The owner's do send information on how to get there, which was very helpful, as the sat nav will take you up the narrowest, steepest mountain tracks!! The studio's are not too far out of Matlock, just a 10 minute drive.
Waiting for us was a bottle of wine and some sweeties, which was a lovely touch. All in all, despite the awful weather, we had a lovely break away from everything.
If you want quality at a reasonable price, but dont fancy staying in a hotel the Riber Hall is the place you want to be.

Room Tip: We had Studio 3 which is on the ground floor, not a bad size, lovely and warm despite the awful weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksgran21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Me and my partner were after a quick easy break away for the weekend and stumbled across this picturesque cottage whilst wading through different websites, all the reviews were positive and the location seemed ideal so we booked it. We was not dissapointed at all, when we arrived we was both buzzing with excitement as the weather was beautiful and we got into our room and couldn't believe the warm welcome we recieved. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and box of choclates on the table alond with a welcome statement and loads of information on local resturants and attractions ect. The cottage was perfectly located, around a 5 minute drive into Matlock and a little bit further to Matlock Bath. There are loads of resturants and pubs around these areas, they are all very welcoming and nobody frowned when we wondered into the pubs along the river in Matlock Bath. With the parking at the back of the cottage there was nothing I could really say wrong about this hotel at all, we will hopefully return one day this year as it is a top establishment.

Room Tip: We had studio 4, its has a spacious living area, with two arm chairs, a little kitchen area and a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matheus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My daughter very kindly paid for a stay at Riber Hall for me for Mother's Day, and having stayed before - when Riber Hall was a hotel - though looking forward to staying again, I was worried that the conversion to self-catering rooms may have harmed this beautiful building or detracted from the gorgeous rooms...

However, it hasn't at all, and in fact, the new and high quality mini-kitchens are a splendid addition.

As on my last visit, the four poster bed was a wonderful experience, as was the beautifully fitted bathroom.

I loved the extra touches that are provided with the rooms, such as the high quality toiletries, robes and slippers, and I was yet more delighted to find wine, chocolates and a gorgeous teddy bear in our room!

Added bonuses were the flat screen TV which didn't seem at all obtrusive yet was big enough to actually watch comfortably, and the wifi - which I didn't avail myself of on this visit - will be a plus if you need to access the 'net on your visit.

The building and its grounds are magnificent and you can feel the opulence of a bygone era fairly oozing out of the solid stone walls.

The peace and tranquility is priceless, and in terms of value for money, it doesn't get better than this.

The only one thing I would suggest is that there are more ashtrays available outside. Other than that, absolutely perfect and I wish I could stay here every weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lynnconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
425 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
14 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matlock
Price Range: $209 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing