We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Bad.”
Review of Riber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riber Hall
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This is very much a hands off operation with a self check-in process. This info provided is clear enough and simple to follow. That is where the positive experience ends I'm afraid. This place might have some quaint charm attached to it but is very tired indeed in terms of the decor and overall maintainence. We were provided with an apartment which had a overpowering stench of the previous occupier's taste for curry. Not nice. There were other issues with cleanliness which was indicative of sloppy housekeeping. Don't be sucked in by the offer of sleeping in a four poster bed adjacent to a country house at reduced prices. We travelled to the area to visit Chatsworth and cancelled a booking in a Premier Inn in favour in Riber Hall which gives you an indication of just how far down the ladder of acceptability Riber Hall is. How stupid/unlucky were we ?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MacBrummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just arrived home from the Riber Hall Sudio's in Matlock. After having a lovely relaxing time.The studio's are finished to a very standard.
Everything is included for your self catering needs. The bed was so comfortable, but very high!! A proper old fashioned 4 poster bed, so romantic and sumptuous.
The bathroom was huge and of a very high standard, hot water on demand. everything was supplied for your own use right down to the shower gel.
The owner's do send information on how to get there, which was very helpful, as the sat nav will take you up the narrowest, steepest mountain tracks!! The studio's are not too far out of Matlock, just a 10 minute drive.
Waiting for us was a bottle of wine and some sweeties, which was a lovely touch. All in all, despite the awful weather, we had a lovely break away from everything.
If you want quality at a reasonable price, but dont fancy staying in a hotel the Riber Hall is the place you want to be.

Room Tip: We had Studio 3 which is on the ground floor, not a bad size, lovely and warm despite the awful weat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksgran21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Me and my partner were after a quick easy break away for the weekend and stumbled across this picturesque cottage whilst wading through different websites, all the reviews were positive and the location seemed ideal so we booked it. We was not dissapointed at all, when we arrived we was both buzzing with excitement as the weather was beautiful and we got into our room and couldn't believe the warm welcome we recieved. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and box of choclates on the table alond with a welcome statement and loads of information on local resturants and attractions ect. The cottage was perfectly located, around a 5 minute drive into Matlock and a little bit further to Matlock Bath. There are loads of resturants and pubs around these areas, they are all very welcoming and nobody frowned when we wondered into the pubs along the river in Matlock Bath. With the parking at the back of the cottage there was nothing I could really say wrong about this hotel at all, we will hopefully return one day this year as it is a top establishment.

Room Tip: We had studio 4, its has a spacious living area, with two arm chairs, a little kitchen area and a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matheus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My daughter very kindly paid for a stay at Riber Hall for me for Mother's Day, and having stayed before - when Riber Hall was a hotel - though looking forward to staying again, I was worried that the conversion to self-catering rooms may have harmed this beautiful building or detracted from the gorgeous rooms...

However, it hasn't at all, and in fact, the new and high quality mini-kitchens are a splendid addition.

As on my last visit, the four poster bed was a wonderful experience, as was the beautifully fitted bathroom.

I loved the extra touches that are provided with the rooms, such as the high quality toiletries, robes and slippers, and I was yet more delighted to find wine, chocolates and a gorgeous teddy bear in our room!

Added bonuses were the flat screen TV which didn't seem at all obtrusive yet was big enough to actually watch comfortably, and the wifi - which I didn't avail myself of on this visit - will be a plus if you need to access the 'net on your visit.

The building and its grounds are magnificent and you can feel the opulence of a bygone era fairly oozing out of the solid stone walls.

The peace and tranquility is priceless, and in terms of value for money, it doesn't get better than this.

The only one thing I would suggest is that there are more ashtrays available outside. Other than that, absolutely perfect and I wish I could stay here every weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lynnconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stopped twice in the riber cottage apartments and will be returning again. We have stopped in two rooms and both were superb! Ideal for a weekend break and only a 10 minute drive into Matlock bath. It's set in a beautiful area and parking available. Without fail there has been a little bottle of wine, some mints and toiletries to use. We will be returning throughout the year such a pleasent break away!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

What a fantastic place to celebrate with friends (we were there for a Hen Party). It was spotless and had everything we needed to make it comfortable and relaxing. The kitchenette facilities allowed us to use our rooms for drinks and snacks which was great. My only criticism would be that there wasn't a dishwasher in te main kitchen which would have helped when catering for 14 people! We managed though and the additional social areas were fabulous. Thank you, i'll be happy to recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Angie_M1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed here. Great room stunning location we even stayed an extra night because of how nice the weather was. Would stay again and have and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
14.0 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matlock
Price Range: $200 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing