We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply sublime!”
Review of Lea Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lea Hall
Ranked #45 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply sublime!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Lea hall recently to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. A beautiful house, exquisitely decorated in a lovely setting. We received a very warm welcome from Lolly and Steve, had fantastic breakfasts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would totally recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We went for the luxury and stayed in the chocolate room, good views and great bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This friendly B&B style hotel looked fantastic on the website and we were not disappointed. The house is stunning and the value for money exceptional. The charm of the place outweighs the fact that the rooms are not what you would get from a 5* boutique hotel but that said, Lea Hall never claims to be one and for the price it is one of the best places I have visited. The Breakfast was excellent and the hosts were friendly and efficient.

I can imagine that the place could be a little noisy if you had inconsiderate guests but the overall feel was very special.

The local pub does reasonable food and is cosy and has good beer. I think British visitors and overseas tourists would find Lea hall to be a real authentic old country house steeped in history and charm.

Highly recommended from a seasoned traveler !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We only had a short stay and if I'd have known it was so nice I would have booked a couple more days. The staff where not only very helpful with local knowledge but where very interested
in the history of the property they where working in, which was nice to get a little background information on such a historical building, it really gives you a sence of stepping back in time with a lot of original features still in place.
The food was very good and the rooms where very well kitted out.
We would recommend a stay and we would go back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALLAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a lovely two night stay at Lea Hall and would recommend it to other couples looking for a romantic break in a fantastic loaction in the middle of the derbyshire dales. Breakfast is great and the setting around one long table is great for meeting other guests and sharing your experiences together. The rooms are lovely and you have everything that you need. The Jug and Glass pub is a 10 minute walk down the road and is a lovely village pub with good food and real ale. Would definetly go back : ))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclebazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is about as different as you can get form the standard chain hotel. It is historic and charming. Yes it creaks, yes ots floors slope but what you get is the chnace to stay in a place most of us only ever dram of being able to stay at.

I was the only guest the nught i stayed and so it very special. You can have nealry anything you want for breakfast all freashly preapred for you from the best of local ingredients. I was also luckenough to get a room upgrade.

the only down side was the lack of internet and th epoor mobile reception.

Room Tip: not all rooms ahve baths so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I must say it was a very nice location and environment to stay in. No mod cons here just good clean rooms, lovely breakfast along with friendly & welcoming staff . Pity our stay was only for one night

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamshireMsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a find! Booked a weekend here on the basis of the reviews in tripadvisor and could not have been more delighted. The hall itself is a fascinating historic building having been extended and modified many times over the centuries.The recent renovations to make it suitable for paying guests have been enough to make your stay comfortable without destroying the 'old world' feeling of the house.
Finally, special mention has to be made of our hosts, Lolly and Steve, who worked so hard to make our stay both pleasant and comfortable. They are a true asset to the house.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o_equs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
13.5 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea Hall

Property: Lea Hall
Address: Lea, Matlock DE4 5GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Lea Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing