We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely, old fashioned but lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sunday School

The Old Sunday School
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Sunday School
Ranked #42 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just lovely, old fashioned but lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and loved it, fantastic couple, clean and comfortable room, just lovely.
All a little old fashioned but it doesn't matter when they obviously enjoy having you there and take the time to care that you're ok. Even gave us some sausage plait that had been made for the fayre, it was like staying at a family members house. They were lovely.
Only criticism I can think of is the shower is not very powerful considering the fantastic shower cubicle, but that's it. Thank you so much, we will be back x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Did a quick search, came across the Old Sunday School . Rang booked straight away. The cost of £60-00 was an absolute bargain. The owners were very welcoming , supplying us with fresh milk on our arrival for a much needed cup of tea. We were shown to our room , it was very spacious with a king size bed and lovely big bathroom. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and what we would like off the breakfast menu. We both chose the full English which was really nice, hot and cooked to perfection(other options were available).We were in Matlock attending a school reunion and when we have another get together next year I will be booking The Old Sunday School as soon as I know the date

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank normatmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Booked the family room for a short 3 day break in Derbyshire.The owners are very helpful and extremely welcoming. The accommodation is very good, we booked the family room which was effectively two rooms with an inter connecting door. Beds where comfy and facilities were also good. Breakfast on a morning was excellent and the choice was endless.There was no bounds to the hospitality and we even got to watch the "Great British bake off " in the owners own lounge on an evening. We would definitely return as we only got a chance to see a small part of this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 267Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My stay in the old Sunday school was very welcoming. The owners are lovely people and have lots of maps and leaflets for many attractions of Matlock, Bath etc. They drew out directions for me gave me bus times and advice on the best sites to see. They were very knowledgeable and happy to help with anything. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast in the morning is an option of many things, you just let them know the night before what you would like to eat and what time. The old Sunday school is situated up the road from many vintage and retro shops, a park a super market and more. They also have a Jacuzzi bath down stairs which is available to use. I will be booking to stay here again in the future, i recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Matlock after walking a section of the Limestone Way and The Old Sunday School was perfect. Despite it being up a hill it was well worth the walk as we were given a very warm welcome and led to our spacious room and comfy bed. We didn't hesitate to order the full English breakfast for the morning and we were not disappointed, With another days walking ahead of us it was just what we needed to start the day and get us going. The Easter eggs were a lovely treat too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely accommodation and great breakfast. Liked the fact that the owners only let out one room so you don't have to worry about noisy guests. The property is situated just off quite a steep hill so this could cause some people a little trouble but you can always get a taxi. We walked up and down......with a little rest on the way back up! The parking is a little restricted on the road but ok after 5pm in the week and no restrictions at the weekend. There is unrestricted parking on the main road though. All in all recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#7 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Sunday School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Sunday School

Property: The Old Sunday School
Address: The Old Sunday School New Street, Matlock DE4 3FH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing