We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here on Easter weekend. It was in a great location, very clean and comfortable with some very nice homely touches. We had the Cedar room which was very comfortable. My Mother had the single room which too was warm, clean and comfortable. There was a good selection to chose from and it was delicious. I would recommend this as a great place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleyannj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We cannot recommend the Cedar House highly enough. This has been the best stay ever in a b&b. The cedar house is centrally located in the town and has Car Parking. Tea on arrival on a wet and windy day in Matlock, was very welcome from our host.The Sunny Room was on the first floor with a very comfortable double bed and tastefully decorated with vintage furniture. The breakfast set us up for the day with excellent vegetarian options, would recommend the Derbyshire oatcakes and mushrooms.We had a great couple of nights, and will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very warm welcome, we arrived a little early and they allowed us to book in and unpack.
Rooms very clean, comfortable with personal touches, a lot of trouble had been taken. Room contained, a small settee ,large double and en suite bathroom. There was dressing gowns available in rooms for guests to use. Free wifi was also available and very useful.
Plenty of eating out places and plenty of choice.
Breakfast was help yourself to cereals and juice and a beautifully cooked and served full English.
The house was central in Matlock and close to other transport systems. We would recommend this B&B very highly.

Room Tip: There are four to chose from we had one at the back. Looked on to river,very quite and beautiful sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katespaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The b&b is located right along the river. It's within walking distance to everything in Matlock. We went for a nice run in the morning on the trail along the river. The beds are comfortable, very clean, and breakfast is very nice. Not far from Matlock Bath either, so it's a great location for the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ggeewwllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Delightful hostess, great location in the town, and superb breakfast. However on being taken to our room we had to climb 2 and a half flights of stairs to the attic. It was not a large room and the sloping roof reducing the standing area by a third. The window was small and the curtains not lined so the room was lit all night. We had asked for twin beds but were not expecting a double bed and a single fold away/ put up bed.This was immediately changed on us showing our surprise but due to the roof line we could not get to both sides of the double bed or sit up on both sides, and with the single bed sitting up was impossible. No central heating but a electric fire was provided so one woke up to a cold room. The decoration was good, shower adequate and some nice touches i.e. tea and coffee facilities - not sure why the spare loo roll had to have a pretty blue ribbon tied round it! Did not see the other rooms but got the feeling we had drawn the short straw, and did receive 10% refund. Would stay again but not if we were offered the attic.

Room Tip: Don't have the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank legoupil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with two of our friends while attending a wedding on the Saturday at Stancliffe Hall (which is an excellent wedding venue). Thought the B&B was very good value - we liked the little touches in the room such as providing kit-kats in the room (a first for me) and a comprehensive collection of toiletries in the bathroom (such as make up wipes etc).

Breakfast was good but a bit slow particularly on the first day, think the regular owner was away that weekend though so the staff filling in did a good job. Would recommend all round at the price and location is ideal too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crypt1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent three nights at cedar house b&b this week and we have to say it was an absolutely delightful stay. The hostess was so welcoming and made our first stay in Matlock very memorable, we will certainly return. The room was very comfortable and full of little extras chocolates every day and bottled water along with the usual tea/coffee etc. The standard of cleanliness was faultless. We have stayed in alot of b&b's and this one is certainly one of the best we have experienced. We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone who is visiting Matlock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trishased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Tansley
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $92 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing