We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night wedding stay”

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with two of our friends while attending a wedding on the Saturday at Stancliffe Hall (which is an excellent wedding venue). Thought the B&B was very good value - we liked the little touches in the room such as providing kit-kats in the room (a first for me) and a comprehensive collection of toiletries in the bathroom (such as make up wipes etc).

Breakfast was good but a bit slow particularly on the first day, think the regular owner was away that weekend though so the staff filling in did a good job. Would recommend all round at the price and location is ideal too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crypt1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent three nights at cedar house b&b this week and we have to say it was an absolutely delightful stay. The hostess was so welcoming and made our first stay in Matlock very memorable, we will certainly return. The room was very comfortable and full of little extras chocolates every day and bottled water along with the usual tea/coffee etc. The standard of cleanliness was faultless. We have stayed in alot of b&b's and this one is certainly one of the best we have experienced. We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone who is visiting Matlock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trishased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Only one word can describe this B&B in Matlock ' FANTASTIC'!

Stayed here on a 4 night break just over a week ago, I am so pleased we chose this place based on the reviews. The hostess Babalou is such a lovely lady who nothing is too much trouble for and the breakfast is to die for. Our room was delightful/clean and bed really comfy. It is in a super central location and the beautiful Hall Leys Park is just a short stroll away. This may I add was a very reasonably priced B&B compared with others in the area, so another bonus.

We ate in a variety of places but our favourite meal was the fish chips and mushy peas in Matlock Bath!! Amazing! If you want Nouvelle Cuisine then Stones restaurant right on your doorstep.

There is a great little bar just around the corner, nice up market place, Cafe Bar MOCA, nice music, not loud just chilled, and sells a variety of beers, wines and cocktails.

If your going to Matlock then Cedar House is the place for you, believe me ;-))

Thanks Babalou, we will be back xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in the b & b. It was a charming stay. The owners were very kind and welcoming. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. It is maybe not as modern or glamorous as some we have stayed quaint maybe a good description but the cleanliness was good and the breakfast lovely. Very central location easy walking distance to some restaurants. Give it a try. One minor detail there is a club somewhere nearby and we could hear it until quite late at night so if you are a light sleeper it may be an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fantasy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Quaint small B&B which was very clean and tidy. The host was very friendly and helpful and advised us about a lovely walk up Mam Torr then onto Heights of Abraham finishing in Matlock Bath before walking back to Matlock. Had a lovely weekend away with my hubby of 25 years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoHeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Babalou for two nights and we really, really enjoyed it! The room is comfortable, it's clean, breakfast is good, Babalou is friendly and helpful.
The location could not be better, quite central, yet quiet, within walking distance of the centre. Parking available at the front door, Wi-Fi included.....
In short: we can highly recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotsofpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for in the Riverview Room for 5 nights (17-22) during the mini-heatwave in July.

The b+b is located on a private road within easy walking distance of a parade of shops and restaurants on the Derwent Way (A6) and within easy walking across the park to Matlock itself. The railway station is close by and a short drive away is a large Sainsburys. Matlock Baths is 5 minutes by car but could be in another country compared to where we stayed.

The room is on the first floor and has a large double bed with bedside tables, a settee, wall mounted TV and a bathroom with a mixer taps that allow for a shower. There is wifi throughout the house and the strength of the signal was very impressive in our room.

The room has views over the garden and the River Derwent can be just viewed through the trees. Despite being only around the corner from the A6 it is a peaceful and quiet location.

Breakfast is ordered daily and is taken in a dining room downstairs. The breakfasts were varied and good and set you up for the day ahead.

There is parking for 3 vehicles in front of the house with further space on the private road.

The weather during our visit was exceptional and the room to start off with was very hot. No problems 2 fans were provided and with windows fully opened the temperature fell towards bearable in no time. From then on curtains were drawn to keep out the sun and with the large window in the bathroom fully open we didn't have anymore problems.

The location could not have been better for dining options. A short stroll away was a pub that did a wide range of local beers that has won an award from CAMRA and comes highly recommended. We ate at the Italian (2) which was very good and will need to be booked because it is very popular, the Thai which was tasty and the Boatman (2) which is a pub within easy walking distance where I had one of the best steak pies I have ever had. All the food is freshly cooked and as a result you need to sit back and enjoy the pre-dinner drinks as the wait is worth it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time In Matlock and we would return to Cedar House when we are in the area again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Tansley
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
0.0 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $92 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing