We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Italian”
Review of Viva Italian

Viva Italian
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in beautiful surroundings of the county town of Matlock Derbyshire, Viva restaurant creates an environment to enjoy the true taste of Italian and contemporary cuisine.Viva is a modern, glamorous restaurant which offers traditional Italian food made from only the freshest and finest quality ingredients. Enjoy a totally different dining experience, as our open kitchen brings the restaurant to life. Our friendly and lively atmosphere is ideal for family meals, parties or special occasions, and romantic meals for two. Italian cooking is all about using the freshest possible seasonal ingredients and skilfully using basic cooking techniques to enhance their flavour. Interact and watch your food being cooked by our chefs for full piece of mind.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Viva Italian”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great meal here, found via Trip Advisor.
The staff are friendly and the service excellent.
We had the 3 colour garlic bread to start, which must be one of the best garlic breads I have had.
The main courses were well presented and very tasty.
Atmosphere is good, but the tables are fairly close together.
Very popular place, need to book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan25252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiaitalia1234, Owner at Viva Italian, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food, the extra time taken by our chefs for presentation and also the friendly service given by our floor team.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    212
    64
    38
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

There were 15 of us. Excellent service and fantastic food. Fine dining with reasonable prices. We had a range of food including beautiful thick steaks, pizzas, chicken dishes ect.. Could not fault it! Staff were great and very attentive!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiaitalia1234, Owner at Viva Italian, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food, the extra time taken by our chefs for presentation and also the friendly service given by our floor team.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There are several Italian restaurants in and around Matlock, but this place is a real find. For some reason we only tried it the other week, two years after we moved to the area. The food was excellent and the service friendly. This is one we will return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Ronshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiaitalia1234, Owner at Viva Italian, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA for us.
Thanks to all the good reviews put on tripadvisor by customers like yourselves more and more people from around the area are trying Viva restaurant. We are proud to say that we are getting very good feedback. Thanks to the hard work put in by all our staff.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty food, beautifully presented and excellent service - highly recommended”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere. Very quick service and nothing too much trouble.

The food came out piping hot and beautifully presented. The wine was delicious and very reasonably priced. Generous portion sizes too.

All 14 of our party left the restaurant happy and very full!

I booked Viva Restaurant for an evening meal for 14 ladies on my friend's hen do. I booked via their on-line booking form and was contacted via email very quickly to confirm the booking and request that we pay a £5pp deposit and give them our food order in advance.

On the day I received a phone call to say that their card machine had stopped working so could we please bring cash or cheque - not a problem at all and really appreciated the advanced warning. We left a generous tip as the food and service were exeptional and the lovely waitress came over to say we had really over paid them and we should check the bill! She seemed shocked when I explained it was a tip for excellent service.

Will be going back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank abithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiaitalia1234, Owner at Viva Italian, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for writing a review on TA for us.
I am so pleased that your party enjoyed their evening at Viva. It is our main aim to make sure that customers leave our restaurant as you said happy and satisfied with the food and service we provide.
Thank you so much for your generous tip. It makes all the hard work done by our staff worth while.
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Liked the courteous service and meals delicious and beautifully presented. Would visit again and recommend it highly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Chrischicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiaitalia1234, Owner at Viva Italian, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food, the extra time taken by our chefs for presentation and also the friendly service given by our floor team.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Viva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Italian also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Viva Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing