We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday experience”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great place for family's , service was incredible as was the food!
We were made to feel very special and we shall definitely return and recommend to all our friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your praising feedback and recommendation and your feedback has been relayed to all our staff The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,438 - 1,442 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Passed this place hundreds of times, saying…must eat there soon, well, we just have done, and what a fantastic place it is. The building is decorated tastefully and not over the top, lovely entrance, staff greeting was friendly and polite, showed to our table and welcomed. Drinks came quickly but not rushed, menu extensive but not pages and pages of variations, our waiter Ali was so nice, he pointed out that we can have anything we like, and items can be adjusted to taste. The food arrived and it was simply delicious, hot, well presented. Our Naans were just as
scrummy.
The head waiter came to chat, and he offered us free drinks after we had paid, so friendly, we will definitely be back there again, even better, we only live 6 miles away, what a gem to have on our doorstep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GardenerPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed the experience that The Shalimar offered.
We look forward to your continued visits for more memorable times at the Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Staff are so friendly, excellent service with fantastic food!
Keep up the good work! Will be back again very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Metalgearjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your praising feedback this has been relayed to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Whilst staying in the peak district my husband and I booked into the Shalimar based upon the reviews on here. We were not diappointed. The restaurant itself is well presented. The staff attentive but not overbearing. One of the things we liked was that the menu was not pages and pages of dishes. We chose the set meat menu for two and it was more than enough in fact we had to leave some of the delicious food. After the meal the manager came and spoke to us (all of the staff are very welcoming and friendly) and asked if we had enjoyed the meal he and his staff strive to give customers the whole package, good food, nice surroundings and scrupulous clean. We think they succeded and the fact that they are in the top 10 of indian restaurants in the country speaks for itself. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review. Your compliments have been relayed to our staff who are delighted that they gave you an excellent evening.
It is great to know that we lived up to your expectations and that you had a memorable time with us here at The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have eaten in many Indian Restaurants, and this is by far the best! The staff are pleasant and attentive, the restaurant is spotless, the food is fantastic! we recommend it to all!
If your local or staying on holiday in the area, you must visit to appreciate. Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindsey155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your praising feedback and recommendation and your feedback has been relayed to all our staff The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing