We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Merseyside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and Restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ate here as a result of feedback on trip-advisor, on the 9th November 2013
Restaurant was very busy but this didn't effect the excellent service and food
Staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Shak in particular was very entertaining and attentive to our party.
Thankyou

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. It is great you choose to come here because of our reviews on Tripadvisor. Shak thanks you for your kind words and he is glad that he added to your enjoyable evening. Many Thanks again The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,426
    167
    51
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Goes from Strength to Strength”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Shalimar remains superb. I have reviewed it before but it needs restating. The best Indian Restaurant I have ever been to. So friendly, lovely decor, the nicest and most attentive staff and the food is just divine. If you haven't been, go, and if you have been, go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review here on Tripadvisor. Your review shows how consistent we are at maintaining our very high standards. Our 'attentive' staff and 'divine' cuisine are just part of what makes The Shalimar one of the best restaurants in the UK. Thank you for your review The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“1st time visit & rather impressed!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived here Sunday night around 5:30pm we noticed we was the only ones in the car park, as we walked into the restaurants we was greeted by one of the kind staff members who welcomed usto our table, we was the only ones in here, only for an hour though until the restaurant got quite busy, well we waited we had a pickle and popperdom tray & drinks, when the food came out, the main course, it was absolutely divine, this smell created an aroma so nice I thought I was in heaven, The food was delicious, and there was plenty of it, we had four drinks altogether, four popadoms and pickle tray, I had the tandoori mixed grill and my wife had some random meal, we both had a desert each & for all this, it cost is just over £60... I myself think this is great value for money and would definitely recommend it to any other humans, also, one of their staff members made is a little hat out of the napkin which was rather amusing, all in all, it was an very enjoyable evening and we will definitely be returning soon, especially when the boss gave as a £10 voucher for next visit!! Yay

Helpful?
1 Thank Flashbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
At 5:30pm you arrived in the quiet time between the diners who come during the day and the evening diners. Thank you for mentioning the great service and 'divine' meals you had, we are of course very proud of the service and quality of cuisine we provide and it is because of this we have been voted as one of the Top Ten Indian Restaurants in the UK and the Best restaurant in Derbyshire by Tripadvisor. Many Thanks for an exceptional review, and we will look forward to seeing you again The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Indian Takeaway we've ever had!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Yes - not an exaggeration - a truely wonderful meal, delivered promptly. Can't wait to visit the restaurant for a meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our takeaway service brings the quality of The Shalimar to your own front door. We will look forward to seeing you in the restaurant Many Thanks The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always great food and great service”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I live other the road from the shalimar and I would recommend it to any body who wants a great Indian meal and for excellent service. Been to many Indian restaurant but this is the best by far every time I try something new it is as good as the last meal. And the service is the brilliant never been to a restaurant with better service simple as. And there take always are just as good as eating in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us on Tripadvisor. It is great that you mention the excellent service as we work hard to provide you with the best experience each and every time. We look forward to having you dine with us again The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing