We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly service and food”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visiting the Peak District for a week v family. Got home delivery from The Shalimar. The food was delicious and we got a lovely bottle of wine free with our order. The driver and his companion were very friendly and I would highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Our delivery service aims to provide you with the complete Shalimar experience at your own home. We are very pleased that you found this was the case. Thank you for choosing The Shalimar and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,746 - 1,750 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've been a couple of times now and it's really good every time. Not only is it brilliant food but also brilliant service and everyone working there is very welcoming
Would defiantly recommend going.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review. Myself and all my staff pride ourselves on our service and food, we are very pleased that this shows through your review. Thank you for your custom and look forward to seeing you again, The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fantastic for eating in with the family and also brilliant take away. My oldest son knows he likes chicken korma, but usually wants to try something a bit different. The waiters are fantastic at suggesting different dishes and bringing him taster plates to try. The Mango Lhassi is also a real treat. Lovely relaxed atmosphere but also feels like a really special place to eat out with family for a treat. Huge take away portions mean we also have enough for lunch the next day too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are always helping our customers get the best experience that they can by helping them choose a dish that would suit their tastes. We feel that a sample of the sauce is the best way to do this and would willingly let you taste any dish on the menu before ordering. The Mango Lhassi is made specially to order and as such comes to you at its freshest making it that little more special. Thank you again for your review The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A cold wet and rainy evening in May 2013. A warm welcome from Ali and Shaheen at the Shalimar. Service, cleanliness and food could not be faulted. We will make this venue our regular special eating place and recommend it to any visitor to the Derbyshire Dales.
Pete and Carol - Sydnope Hill, Matlock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mollieshay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your five star review. Ali and Shaheen and the rest of the Shalimar staff look forward to seeing you again and hope that you find each visit as welcoming as your last

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Five of us went for a family meal on Bank Holiday Monday. The staff were very welcoming as soon as we entered the restaurant. We made our order and immediately recommended we try an alternative to Korma. One of the waitors brought a taster of the sauce which we ordered. Great to see passion in the service and this was also in the food! I had a Lamb Kanghan which was divine! The only slight downside I would say is that the rice portions were slightly smaller than other Indian restaurants I go too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallyMc285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your five star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Shalimar. It is a shame that you didn't say about the size of your rice portions at the time of your meal as we would have gladly made you extra. The Lamb Kanghan is a favorite of our customers and always goes down well. Thank you again The Shalimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing