We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I don't often write reviews but have to say, we have been visiting the Shalimar for many years now and have never been disappointed. The food is first class and the service is second to none, we're always made to feel very welcome by the friendly professional staff and the place is exceptionally clean. We have eaten there on many special occasions and on my Birthday, they made me a fabulous cake and gave me a bottle of wine. On our latest visit with friends, the ladies were given a red rose each and made to feel very special as usual. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion and as for reading any negative reviews all I can say is they must have gone to a different place!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonPara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    167
    51
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Husbands Birthday Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to The Shalimar on recommendation from our hotel and we were not dissapointed , i was not sure what to eat as there was so much choice ! so the waiter asked what i liked i explained what i normally have and he recommended a dish and said i would like it , while we were having our drinks a little while later the waiter returned with a small dish with a spoon and some of the sauce to my dish he said tell me if you like it is it to hot would you like it spicer i was really impressed with this we have eaten in alot of restuarants from cheap to expensive ! and i have never had this before .
The food was hot and very tasty and we both really enjoyed it after our dinner we were offered a free drink but we were so full the waiter said he will hold the drinks for our next visit which we will definetley be returning again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have eaten in Indians all over the country, and the Shalimah in Darley Dale is by far one of the best I have visited. I'm not local to the area but while staying with a relative she suggested eating out at her local indian. It was a friday night so we expected it to busy, and it was, but the service was still excellent. The food was delightful, perfect temp and the chicken I had was cooked to perfection. I also found it to be reasonably priced, I have paid alot more for no where near as good quality. Definitely eat their again, Superb!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shalimar Indian restaurant, A6 Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Don't be put off by the rather dull exterior to a modern building hard by a trunk road: once within, it's a tranquil and lovingly-kept and decorated room; quiet and spacious. The service is exceptionally friendly, professional and prompt, and you are made to feel very welcome. The food was excellent with an interesting range of dishes: not overweighted with gloopy hot curries, but fresh, often light, ungreasy. Hard to put your finger on it, but the place has a really nice atmosphere. Matthew Parris

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthewfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been going to shall mar for sevaral years and not one had a bad thing to say. Always beautiful food and very helpfully staff always wishing to help .
it's the people that give the bad reviews that are the jokes not the place
Very clean always have and always will eat at the shalimar or deliverd

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing