We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok for a one night stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked at short notice for a one night stay. The young woman who booked us in was helpful, cheerful and very pleasant. The room was in one of some separate buildings behind the public house. Approached up some external stairs, the room was private, with a high beamed ceiling so we didn't feel claustrophobic. Immediately obvious were a number of large stains on the carpet. This was a bit offputting. I'm afraid the stains on the carpet really affected our stay, as we couldn't help keep wondering what they were. The bed was comfortable. We both slept well. The bedding was soft and of good quality. The room was quite small with no real storage other than a short and low hanging rail. There was a bedside table at one side of the bed but nothing at the other so nowhere to put a cup of tea or other small items. The ensuite shower room was miniscule with a tiny washbasin squashed next to the tiny shower. I am only 5' 2" and not fussy but I found it hard to manage in the shower - I didn't ask my husband who is 5'11" as I knew what the answer would be ..... The grouting in the shower was slightly mouldy. The bed had no headboard, hence there was some staining to the wall behind the bed from people's heads. The room just didn't feel "loved". It was adequate for a one night stay, but we would not have stayed longer.
We had booked for breakfast which took a little time to come, and some items were forgotten but brought a little later. Again I would not like to be critical but this place charged about £64 for two people for the night including breakfast - the poached eggs were hard, the sausages were really not nice, and everything was quite cool when it arrived. For this price we have stayed in some really lovely places with great breakfasts and this really didn't match up.
Everybody we met was pleasant, courteous and helpful.
Matlock itself is wonderful with amazing views, walks and quirky little areas.
This is under new management so I am sure they have everything in hand to improve things as potentially this is a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherry027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    29
    16
    21
See reviews for
40
114
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel and I have to say it was fabulous. The moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.
Maybe it was the landlords Irish charm and friendliness that hooked us.
the room was lovely like a barn conversion with vaulted ceiling very modern and very clean.
I will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My 3 friends and i stayed here for 1 night, we had rooms 5 and 9 and they were both lovely, very clean, comfy and quite quirky. We weren't rushed to check out and all staff were really friendly. i would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in matlock. It was great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here beginning of July and believe new management have recently taken over. Very apologetic when main lights in reserved room did not work and given upgrade immediately. No demand for money on arrival, happy to tale on departure. Rooms were very clean and tidy, breakfast good. All staff very friendly and helpful. Recommended

Room Tip: The ones with the 4 post beds are recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Dinner and breakfast menu varied and very comparable. Room and bed comfortable and clean and fresh. Recommend to any travellers needing a base to visit all local attractions. Staff very friendly and really helpful.

Room Tip: please disregard previous critical reviews of this pub which now has new management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickianne43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were recently self-catering nearby and dropped in this pub for a quick evening meal. It's a bit basic, but really good value for money. Perhaps best to pre-book as it does get busy.

The negative side was that there were TV screens in every area - OK if you're a sports fan, but not if you just want a quiet meal.

Overall I would recommend this place and we did in fact return for a second meal in there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirlGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longcliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited this pub for tea on a Saturday evening, there was a long wait before our food arrived, there seems to have been a change of policy since we last visited and you have to track down your own knives and forks! The food was nice and good value for money, the waitress (who i haven't seen before) took a long time to clear the table and did not offer us sweets - so we didn't bother to order them! Nice pub, with a nice atmosphere but service not up to usual standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
2.1 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
266 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 52 in Matlock
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 52 in Matlock
303 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Wellington Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington Country Inn

Property: The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Address: 115 Wellington Street, Matlock DE4 3GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Duke of Wellington Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Country Hotel Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing