We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A romantic and luxurious home from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wordphile
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A romantic and luxurious home from home”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is perfectly located for a break in the Peak District. The cottage itself is large and roomy and has been beautifully renovated. There's a good pub practically next door and a fish and chipshop a few yards away, but if you are inclined to cook then the kitchen has everything you could want. As walkers, we appreciated the large utility room with a place for boots to dry off and for wet coats. The living room and dining room are very comfortable - we spent one very wet, cold afternoo lounging around in front of the fire with books. Upstairs, the bathroom is beautiful with an excellent shower and good size bath. There are three bedrooms - two of which have enormous beds made up with high quality bedding. I cannot find fault with this property and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Hi Anna, Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would also consider coming again. All the hard work creating the cottage is so worth while when you read comments like yours, knowing you enjoyed your stay so much leaves us feeling very satisfied. Thanks again and just let us know when you're ready to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't of asked for more”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriends booked the cottage for our annual New Year escape from the family break.
We booked Rose Cottage after browsing different sites as the photos looked great but in actual fact when we arrived we realised the photos didn't do it full justice. The whole place is beautifully decorated with top of the range furnishings. It really is one of the nicest places we've stayed
Matlock is a lovely place with lots to see which we did on the Saturday but for the rest of the time we had just what we needed within a 2 min walk.
Friendly pub next door and a small store on the corner...ideal for us ladies
We have decided not to search for a new place for next January we were that happy with the cottage we are booking again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Hi ladies. It's great to know that you all had such a nice time at Rose Cottage. We put lots of thought into how we can make the cottage comfortable and are always thinking about what we can add to make it even better. Comments like yours mean a lot.
The local pub, chippy and shop are always a winner! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in January.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneSheer...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Christmas at Rose Cottage”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful stay in Rose Cottage over Christmas. It is very beautifully renovated but also very comfortable and with plenty of room for Christmas activities. My daughters and I loved the very tasteful Christmas decorations.It was a perfect venue for Christmas but I intend to try it during the summer too.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2018
Thank you Anne for taking the time to review your stay at Rose Cottage, we really appreicate it. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the Christmas break. We hope you manage to return and will be happy to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeGough
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We have just had a week long break in this stunning cottage. Ideally situated and hands down the nicest cottage I have ever stayed in. It was maticulously clean and inviting, lovingly restored decorated and presented to a very high standard with all the added extras you could ever want, modern appliances under floor heating and a lovely welcome hamper on arrival. You can tell that the owners put lots of thought into providing everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and going that extra mile for your guests will always make a holiday stand out above others.
We hope to visit again and will certainly recommend to family and friends
Many Thanks
Leah, Lee and the boys

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2018
Thank you family Gough! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your New Year break at Rose Cottage. Also, the kind and generous comments you made about your stay are very much appreicated. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
Reviewed December 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you’re considering whether or not to book this house, just do it! I cannot express the amazing experience we had with this beautiful, modern and luxurious. We wished we could have stayed longer but when we booked it was already full! It is super close to the beautiful Peak District and only a little while to the town of Bakewell. We had such great fun in the surrounding areas and had the perfect cottage to come back to and relax by the fire in the evenings!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2018
Thank you so very much for your positive review. We are so pleased that you had such a great stay. We hope you will come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPiela
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, perfect for relaxing break”
Reviewed December 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot recommend Rose Cottage highly enough. It is such a charming cottage which has been renovated to a very high standard and you can feel a lot of love has gone into it! We couldn't fault it- lovely and warm on a cold snowy weekend, wonderfully comfortable beds and a very well equipped kitchen. The hosts had thought of everything, including a lovely welcome bag of bread, wine and milk etc and Emma was brilliant at ensuring we had everything we needed. Location is great for exploring and is near to local amenities in Matlock- but the cottage is set back enough from the road with a big gate that it feels very private. Thank you to Emma and Dan for a lovely stay. We would love to come back again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
Thank you for making the time to write us a review Claire. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, this is the perfect kind of feeback we hope for! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnAir4388...
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five Star Plus!”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Rose Cottage while visiting the Matlock area from Canada.
The cottage is situated within easy walking distance to shops, great restaurants, the chip shop and a neighbourhood pub, perfect!
The hosts made themselves available when needed but had anticipated our needs in advance and the cottage was stocked, warm and welcoming on our arrival.
There was only the 2 of us but we did some entertaining while we were there and it was spacious with everything provided to prepare and enjoy our nights “at home”.
We look forward to returning to Rose Cottage on our next visit.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
Thank you so much for the postive comments you have made about Rose Cottage. It really is everything to hear that our guests are comfortable and want to come back. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing