We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
13
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
13
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely atmosphere peak district one night lounge bed dog
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

So we get shown to our room I very quickly noticed that the four poster bed must of been hidden behind the small double bed that was in the room. I went down to ask to be moved to the room id actually booked but the hotel was full so he couldn't give me a refund or move us. Called hotels. Com who took 1.5hrs to call 17 hotels in the area with nothing to offer that was suitable. So we slept in a bed just big enough for a mouse. Owner not very good with confrontation and I found him rude. The hotel lied on the booking information and infact did not have the room available so tried to fob us off with the one we had no choice to take in the end. The pillows we're paper thin and the bed was not only small but very uncomfortable. Zero sleep! Please see pictures of very low doors that did not have any signs warning you. One in our party hit their head quite badly leaving a lump. I would recommend location only.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Adrienne J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

We only stayed one night whilst attending a funeral but wished we could have stayed longer. Couldn't have been made more welcome by mine hosts. Food is superb. The evening we arrived I had the Ribeye steak and my wife the venison, both were excellently cooked and came with a good selection of vegetables. We had a bottle of a great Malbec wine at a reasonable price. Breakfast was a true English with delicious ingredients cooked whilst you waited, and the usual help your self buffet of cereals etc. Room was comfortable and well furnished and extremely clean. Decor in the room was a little basic but what you expect with the confines of a grade 2 listed building. Hotel is pet friendly which is why we made our original choice. Will definitely stay again at this wonderful small hotel if ever back in Derbyshire.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

Have loved our stay. Quirky historical hotel. Room was quiet and bed comfortable. The staff very welcoming and friendly. Food was fantastic. We ate twice here and being such a large hotel sat in different areas so felt like a different place. Breakfasts were excellent. The blonde lady serving was so lovely and pleasant. Will be back.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KalJen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

We stopped off just for a drink and ended up having fresh cooked pizza and chips, the staff were friendly and service was good, we will be going back, well worth a visit, The hotel was also dog friendly

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Naylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fab night at The Greyhound - lovely country hotel decor, friendly staff and wonderful food - a well designed menu, cooked with passion and skill and just the right time to wait for the meal. Don’t hesitate to go, it’s a total triumph. Well done team!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Somedayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews