We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont find better”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #7 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We found this B&B on line and didn't check the reviews it was in Matlock and thats where we wanted to be for one night, WOW! what a find we have stayed in quite a lot of B&Bs and this one is outstanding John and Ann go that extra mile with just about everything you can think of in your room to make your stay more comfortable, even down to dressing gowns, and the really lovely breakfasts with that extra special touch, I noticed near the front door there is a tripavisor sign award of excellence,I am not surprised its well deserved, if we are ever in Matlock again we would love to stay longer at Ellen House

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for the words of praise, we are so happy that you think we are outstanding! We do work hard to maintain high standards and always try our best to make our guests feel welcome. We will keep on providing the special touches, home made goodies and scrumptious breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have spent the last weekend at Ellen House. Anne and John are terrific hosts, breakfasts to die for and little goodies left in your room such as biscuits, flapjacks or muffins yummy!. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and we have already to family and friends!!. We will hopefully be back sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for the recommendations, it is much appreciated. Hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Crunchies/muffins will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

John and Anne were the perfect hosts, we had four great nights in their perfectly located B&B. They were so friendly and warm and went out of their way to accommodate any request. The breakfasts were the BEST we have ever had anywhere, The rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated with lots of lovely little thoughtful touches. If anyone out there is thinking of running a B&B then if you take a leaf out of John and Anne's book then you cann't go wrong.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newmeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Wow, we are lost for words! Thank you very much for such a glowing review. Really looking forward to a return visit as we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Quiet location, not far to walk to town centre down a hill.Spotlessly clean, with bright cheerful interesting decor. Really helpful friendly hosts. Very good breakfast--couldn't get better anywhere.
Shower a bit tricky to work at first. Comfy bed, good size wardrobe and room. Can open windows if necesssary.
Extremely good value for such high standards
Would certainly return if again visiting lovely Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your time here with us at Ellen House. It is good to know that we succeed in our aim to offer accommodation of a high standard. Showers can be tricky, I will ensure that I give clear instructions regarding its use! Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just had 3 fantastic nights in Ellen House. Every thing was what you would expect and more. John & Anne not only provide top class accommodation, but also produced breakfasts fit for a king, i would certainly recommend the frittata as an alternative to the usual bacon eggs etc, we will be returning as soon as possible

Room Tip: Garden room lets you enjoy the early morning birds sing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suejim39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed for two nights on my own wanting to do some walking. John and Anne could not have been more hopsitable and introduced me to my fellow guests at breakfast. Speaking of which the breakfast was outstanding with homemeade local conserves and a wonderful choice.

Great room well appointed with nice touches like botted water, fresh muffin and beautiful toiletries. Good position too, easy walk from Railway, but no noise. Make sure you take some time to sit in the garden and literally smell the roses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you, we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location and facilities. It is good to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and our home made jams (courtesy of my talented sister). Glad the English weather allowed you to sit in the garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at Ellen House. Ann and John made us feel very welcome and breakfast was marvellous. Very central location with shops etc. within easy walking distance. Wonderful hosts in a wonderful B and B. Really enjoyed the muffins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: $105 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing