We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, good service”
Review of Stones Restaurant

Stones Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Stones Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $63
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dinner - Tuesday to Saturday 6.30-9pm. Lunch - Wednesday to Saturday 12-2pm. Tucked away in the heart of idyllic Matlock, Derbyshire, Stones is a modern, eclectic restaurant with a stylish, welcoming interior and a superb modern British menu. The restaurant, which added a new riverside conservatory in May 2013, is jointly run by Kevin Stone, Head Chef, partner, Jade Himsworth and sister, Katie Temple. Stones' riverside conservatory overlooks the babbling River Derwent. The menus change seasonally to reflect the very best in local produce, and the wine to match the food. Stones' philosophy is to provide a fantastic dining experience in a relaxed setting. The dining room which is popular with couples, locals and visitors, is a perfect place for romantic, family or business meals. Stones has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, good service”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was excited to try Stones as I have heard so many good reports about it; so was delighted when I had the opportunity to visit with a group of friends for a Christmas party meal.

I ordered Crab and spring onion risotto with avocado, coriander oil to start; this was beautifully presented with a grape sorbet and very tasty. The risotto perhaps was a little overcooked but this is the way I like it! For mains I ordered braised blade of Derbyshire beef, presented with celeriac puree, cabbage and bacon, red wine jus. This again was beautifully cooked and presented in a contemporary style.. For dessert I was torn between crème brulee, treacle tart or cheese but opted in the end for the cheese board. There were 5 or 6 different cheeses to try (but reasonable size portions, not huge slabs of cheese!) with biscuits and home made chutney. I was also given a "fact sheet" listing the different cheeses, the area they are from and describing them; which I felt was a nice touch but sadly I didn't get much time to look at this due to the nature of our table (being a party booking).

Lastly, the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. I can't wait to return; maybe next time will just take the hubby!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sairsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sairsh,

Thank you ever so much for those notes. We’re very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Stones and that you plan to return. I’ve let those concerned see your review.

Very best regards, Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    67
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous - Look forward to next visit”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having never visited, but have heard very good reports from locals we tried Stones.

Large group of ten visited mid week. Probaby not ideal with young children unless the outside terrace is open. (As quite a cool serene grown up place)

We had a set lunch time menu - 3 course 19.30. The food was beautifully presented, and delicious. Good alternatives for vegetarians also.

The decor is cool contemporary, quite a small venue, but dont be put off by the road side location - once inside you realise they have a lovely view of river and park beyond.

IfI was to be uber critical the steps dpwn /up to the restaurant are steep....you might want someone behind you especially ladies in heels.
But really thats a really minor point and I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear YorkshireMom,

Thank you so much for those kind words. It’s really lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our lunch offering.

We do hope you’ll return and continue to enjoy what we’re doing at Stones

Regards, Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Partner had booked this restaurant as part of our mini break in the area, as he'd read a lot of positive reviews online. We weren't disappointed! Lovely atmosphere, with amazing food and friendly staff! Very high standard of food, with generous portions. The cocktails were also fantastic! We were amazed that the chocolates served at the end of the meal were made there! Just a shame they weren't available to buy. Definitely one of the best meals I've had in a long time!

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Eleanor C,

Hmmm. chocolates available to buy?!

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed dining with us at Stones and that
you really did enjoy the cocktails - we gave our listing a bit of makeover
recently.

We hope to see you again in 2014.

Regards, Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best Restaurants in Derbyshire”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Fantastic interesting dishes every one a winner beautiful presentation, relaxed speedy service, only criticism would be not very extensive wine list, but keep on doing what you are doing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorkyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear CorkyDerbyshire,

Many, many thanks for those notes. We're always receptive to observations on
what we do at Stones and take your notes on our wine list.

Regards, Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want a pleasant experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went for my Wife's birthday on a Saturday night .Very busy ,but attentive staff without being overbearing.If i may make an observation the prices for a three course is thirty pound a a head and the two course option is twenty seven with drinks and coffee a meal for two can easily hit Ninety pounds .The starter and the dessert courses were fabulous with real skill making potentially heavy dishes light but retaining all of the flavour .Our main course was unfortunately different to what we had ordered ,whilst beautifully cooked it was not necessarily what we would have chosen.Mentioned it quietly to waitress who resolved the issue with a great deal of skill.It isnt often that you can be so positive about an experience that could have been a disaster.The staff were without exception a credit to them.My only gripe is that if we have a bottle of wine we are capable of pouring it.As it was it was removed to a cooler ,please leave it in an ice bucket!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nokando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear nokando,

Thank you for those notes of general commendation, point taken on the wine.

Regards Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing