We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb venue”
Review of Stones Restaurant

Stones Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dinner - Tuesday to Saturday 6.30-9pm. Lunch - Wednesday to Saturday 12-2pm. Tucked away in the heart of idyllic Matlock, Derbyshire, Stones is a modern, eclectic restaurant with a stylish, welcoming interior and a superb modern British menu. The restaurant, which added a new riverside conservatory in May 2013, is jointly run by Kevin Stone, Head Chef, partner, Jade Himsworth and sister, Katie Temple. Stones' riverside conservatory overlooks the babbling River Derwent. The menus change seasonally to reflect the very best in local produce, and the wine to match the food. Stones' philosophy is to provide a fantastic dining experience in a relaxed setting. The dining room which is popular with couples, locals and visitors, is a perfect place for romantic, family or business meals. Stones has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The car park is a public car park about 100 yards from the restaurant. The restaurant is situated in the centre of Matlock by the river Derwent. There were four in our party. When we entered the restaurant we were shown to our table in the new conservatory, over looking the river. Our coats were taken, and we sat down. From the very start the staff were extremely attentive. We were given a drinks menu, which was very extensive. This was followed by a dish of nuts and a dish of olives. The main menu was then presented to us. There were six or seven starters and main courses to choose from. we decided to miss the starters and just have a main. Whilst waiting for the main meal to come a beautifully presented selection of bread with a variety of butters was brought out.
All four of the main courses were beautifully presented. They included duck, brill, pork and beef. One could not fault any of them, and all the party agreed what a beautiful main course it was. We all decided to be tempted with a dessert.My wife and I had an assiette(selection of all the desserts) and this was a dream. We all finished off with coffee. This was one of the most delightful evenings we have spent. When the coats were brought out to us each coat was given to the correct person - what service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vanroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Vanroyce,

We're really pleased you were able to enjoy all aspects of what we do at
Stones, that was a very pleasing review to read.

Please, don't hesitate to return when our menu changes in January, and for
lunch.

Best regards, Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Stones Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 569 of 761 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I went to Stone's for a family dinner a few weeks ago now. As a group of 12, we were given the table just inside the entrance and close to the bar. This was ok, but very cramped and with 2 young children present, i thought it would have been better if we were seated in the back room. The menu was pre selected which was a good idea, as we all knew what we were expecting. I had the Scallops and Chorizo which was very nice, although the oversized plate it was served on took up most of the cramped space i was sat in. For the mains i ordered the beef. At first i was impressed, but once i found some fat and an artery in the middle of the dish, i decided to return the plate to the kitchen. To my shock, i found the head of staff quite argumentative about my decision as she tried to justify the fact that all meat comes with a bit of fat.I understand this, but it wasn't the fat that put me off.
I then had to wait until all the rest of my family had finished their meals, before i received mine, by which time i just didn't feel like eating it. For dessert i had ordered the cheese board. This consisted of 10 small slices of different cheeses, served with crackers. Although this was nice, i would have preferred 3 or 4 larger pieces of different cheese. All in all, the food was ok, but i don't think it warranted what we had paid. The service lacked any charisma and the restaurant felt a little flat. I would rather spend my money elsewhere in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheRobertoCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear RobertoCarlos,

Good morning. I hope I'm able to answer your concerns and, if I may, cast
some light on a couple of your observations.

At the time of your dining, the conservatory (back room) had already been
booked.

We exchanged the beef as quickly as we could and prepared another - this
took priority in our kitchen. It is regrettable that our

Derbyshire Blade of Beef, on the Stones menu since it first appeared and
incredibly popular, wasn't to your tastes.

The Stones cheeseboard contains seven different pieces of British cheese
which we have personally hand-picked from around the country. We take the
view, and we may be wrong, that a cheese board should show diversity rather
than three or four larger pieces.

It's a shame you might like to spend your time and money elsewhere in the
future. If, at any point, that view, we'd very much like to have you return.

Best regards, Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went last sat for a lunchtime meal. Friendly staff not overbearing. Good choice of meals to suit most tastes. Food was brilliant. Everyone enjoyed their meals.Superb dining surroundings.This place is sheer quality. A rare thing in this area.Best meal i have enjoyed in 2013.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Geoff d,

Many thanks for those kind words Geoff, we really appreciate it.

Regards, Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arranged to meet my wifes cousins here in early November for lunch. Jade was excellent in arranging things for us as we had a few dietry quirks. We were given an excellent square table in the conservatory overlooking the river so everyone could join in the conversations. Service was very good and everyone enjoyed the food. Will definitely return for our reunion next year. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jhar7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear jhar7787,

Many thanks for those kind notes. We always try and satisfy the dietary
requirements of anyone who chooses to dine with us.

Please, don't wait until next year to re-join us.

Best regards, Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This restaurant is a perfect gem. The food, service, menu choices and ambience is top class. I can't remember ever having such a good meal in many, many years. The location is lovely, down by the river, with a beautiful terrace outside. Top marks to this restaurant and all who work there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cligereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Cligereen,

That's wonderful to hear, really great. I'll show your notes to the rest of
the team.

Regards, Jade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing