We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub.”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little pub.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited the Red Lion whilst camping in Ashton...
We found the place to be a lovely, clean, friendly pub with great food and very helpful staff.
We were aloud to take the dog inside without any problems and were made to feel welcome.

A great little place....well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    118
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
73
151
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night, choosing the beef and ale pie, and the special of roast salmon. The salmon was superb but the portion smaller than most for a comparable price; it was on a pleasant leek and potato cake with a nice sauce and the vegetables were fine although overcooked. The beef pie on the other hand had pastry that was hard and black around the edges, and despite its thick gravy, the meat was tough and dry. The impression was that it had been overcooked in the first place, and probably reheated more than once. The accompanying chips were great but the vegetables included broccoli that was yellow and seeding. Why anyone would think that this was fit to cook in the first place was beyond us. We declined dessert mainly because the pie eater wasn't prepared to take the risk, In anticipation of a management comment such as that left for a previous reviewer, we too left without complaining. The sole charge barman, who was also seating dining guests, taking their orders, waiting on the tables and taking payments, showed grace under what must have been a pressured night for him; short staffing and food quality were beyond his control.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionBakewell, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
When misleading statements or assumptions are made about how we operate unfortunately they require us to respond.

"probably reheated more than once" - Presents a risk to food safety; something we would never do.

"sole charge barman, who was also seating dining guests, taking their orders, waiting on the tables and taking payments, showed grace under what must have been a pressured night for him; short staffing and food quality were beyond his control" - On the contrary they have complete control over the staffing. They are able to call on other staff on the premises if they feel it is required. Similarly, they would have been able to do something about the meal if they had been informed about any problems, hence the comments made regarding feedback in a previous post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion for 4 nights. Great little find - traditional inn in a perfect location just off the main area. Staff were mega friendly and couldn't do enough for you. On arrival we were explained the parking system as mentioned in previous posts and shown to our room. Nothing flash but a very comfortable room which was spotlessly clean. Excellent shower the best we have ever had in a hotel. The food was really good and very plentiful and their chips live up to their reputation. All the staff were lovely and very attentive. They worked extremely hard and had smiles for everyone even during their busy periods. A special thanks to Jack the chef who makes an amazing breakfast and his mushrooms are to die for :)

We stayed in room 5 and our only gripe was caused by other guests staying there who had no consideration for others. We like to have a drink and enjoy ourselves but will always respect other guests but these did not have any thoughts for other people who may be sleeping. Loud voices, banging doors etc.....maybe that was why the manager was grumpy 'icemaideninfinitive'?

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was at the back overlooking the beer garden - excellent shower. It was by the door where all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0mL1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, Notts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

6 of us stayed here for 2 nights so we took 3 of the 5 rooms. Reasonable price for 2 nights b&b. Rooms comfortable and clean, all en-suite. There is no parking but for a £10 refundable deposit they gave a permit that allowed parking in local council car park from 4pm until 11am, then you have to pay for a ticket for the day if you plan to leave car where it is.
Breakfast 8:30am-9:30am cooked to order and was lovely cereals and coffee on side to help yourself.
We went off drinking round other local pubs and enjoyed a meal elsewhere in Bakewell, then returned to the red lion around 10:45pm bought a round of drinks and sat talking then asked for another drink at around 11:30 and being residents assumed we would be able to have another, but no, only to be rudely spoken to by the manager who clearly needs some further customer service training, it was not what he said, but the way he said it, if he just had said , sorry but I can't serve any more as we are only licensed until 11pm, then that might have been ok but he had not called time and starting shouting as if he just wanted rid of us and as he was like that it caused a conflict.
But all in all the stay was good and having said all that I would stay again but note to self, don't cross the manager.

Room Tip: Don't have room 1 it's on Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemaideninfinitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to Red lion expecting to be wowed, we were extremely disappointed. I ordered our food at the bar (after paying for first round of drinks) 1xscampi 1xhot roast beef cob ,I was then told there would be a 50p charge added to our bill! The bill came to around £15... ii queried this, and was told it was house policy! No notices were displayed to advise customers, Is this legal?? Was told bill had to be £20 or above to avoid charge, I then ordered another 2x drinks which then took bill to £20.55.The food was served outside in the beer garden, the scampi looked and tasted ok,my hot cob of the day was really really disappointing, a very small stale wholemeal cob(no butter on it)with 2xslices of grey roast beef, which had been nuked in the micro, served with a gravy boat with a thick gloop in it, the chips were nice but the salad was below average, not impressed at £8 I would have and did expect more, We wont be returning. We would definitely not recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionBakewell, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We welcome feedback. However, we would always encourage customers to inform a member of staff if they have a problem at the time it occurs. This allows us to act and rectify problems as they happen and helps to validate genuine reviews.

Unfortunately, there are a number of inaccuracies and misleading comments that require us to respond in this case:

We do not nor never have claimed to be a "Gastro Pub". We serve homemade pub grub and our prices are competitive for Bakewell. The price of the hot roast beef sandwich is £5.95 not £8.00 as claimed.

Notices are clearly displayed above both tills regarding card charges. This is common practice and in place in various other establishments within Bakewell and beyond.

Our bread cobs are supplied fresh each morning from a local baker, and are of a consistent and generous size. We do not serve butter with the roast beef cob as indicated on our menu; the meat is hot it would simply melt the butter into the bread and make it soggy. We would have been more than happy to provide some butter if it had been requested.

The comment regarding the beef being "nuked in the micro" is at best a false assumption and at worst a misleading accusation. Our chefs pride themselves on the consistency and quality of the food we serve. If the meat had truly been "grey" and not its usual roast beef colour then we would have expected many more complaints since this is one of our most popular dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here one night, a Thursday. Upon arrival shown straight to our room, clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. No whistles and bells given the price. car parking was explained. You can stay in any council carpark between 4 and 11 f.o.c. With a pass for a 10 pound returnable deposit. We had a meal in the bar it was well worth it, no pub chain food here, good quality on both of our meals. chips were real, absolutely gorgeous, saw lots of empty plates go back. The pub itself is probably what I'd call the only real old style pub in the town. Beer was well kept I drank bakewell bitter, my last pint was chatsworth gold, far too easy to drink I could have made a mess of myself on that. Breakfast served 8.30 to 9.30 everything a top hotel would serve with good quality full English. Oh yeah and ALL the staff were top notch and obviously enjoyed their work.
Will return

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpygrandad365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

my wife booked us a room at the red lion for our 30th wedding anniversary on arrival we went into a bustling barand greeted with a cheery how may I help from the delightful debbie who booked us in swiftly and sorted a parking permit told us our room would be ready at 2 and told us how to get to car park which is only 3mins away. after sampling a few of the delightful pubs in b/well we went back to the lion and was greeted again with a smile and shown to our room 5 which was nice clean and fresh with a large shower room after a goodnights sleep it was down for a good breakfast.All in All a nice little establishment with happy friendly staff .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#14 of 44 in Bakewell
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Bakewell
Bakewell Red Lion
Red Lion Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing