We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality at a value price”
Review of Castle Inn

Castle Inn
Ranked #10 of 87 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
york, uk
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good quality at a value price”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Basic one course meal for 2 £9:99. We added starter and with drinks cost just over £20. Good quality food and generous portions. Service prompt and good. Parking alongside pub. Very good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john1946uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    150
    37
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A 'locals' pub which offered reasonable value.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The beer was good and the price reasonable. The atmosphere was not great for a visitor to Bakewell as it seemed very much a locals venue. The food was average and good value offers make it worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhotographyTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Bakewell Pub”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The pub is in the town itself. Not too many places near the pub when busy. Best to park in the public parking across the stream. There is outside dining. There is a good selection of ales and the menus features many special meal combinations. The server was very helpful in the making recommendations and selections.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Booked for a group of 11 on a busy bank holiday. Food was good but service was awful - not just unfriendly but downright rude. We ended up clearing our own plates away after the main course as the unpleasant waiter obviously had no intention of doing this and desserts and coffees were squeezed on to the table inbetween the dirty plates.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good choice of food and very reasonable prices. The quality of food was very good but generally found that it was quite a long wait even though it wasn't particularly busy. The staff seemed to be running around and seemed to forget the personal touch of asking if we wanted sauces or how the meal was. However, nothing was too much trouble if we asked.
We would definitely return, especially as our dog was welcome and they even supplied a fresh bowl of water in the bar for our 4 legged friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing