We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub brub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn Bakewell
Ranked #5 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good pub brub”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Part of the Old English Inns group and one of the several popular foody pubs in Bakewell. A menu to suit everyone at reasonable prices and good and friendly service. The pub has modest parking but there is plenty in the town nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    126
    49
    20
    19
See reviews for
69
207
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great food, atmosphere is the best and all at a wonderful price. Service excellent. In our 5 day stay in the village it became our daily evening eatery. Would recommend their 2 for 1 meals at 9.95 especially for those travelling on a limited budget, their selection of local beers is worth trying a different one each evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Asked a passer by where was decent for pub food.

She said The Castle is ok if you don't mind ping and fry stuff.

She was right.

Typical country pub (a good thing) with lots of locals with dogs.

Food was standard heat and serve fayre but ok.

Nothing particularly good but nothing terrible either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NottmMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat while on holiday with friends and came across this place on the Internet so thought we'd give it a go. So pleased we did. The food was gorgeous and very very reasonable in price 2 meals for £9.95! The kids meals were a perfect size and presented beautifully. The two staff we met and were served by were great. Helped make the experience even better for us! Definitely worth the visit. Lovely pub atmosphere ?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for a Saturday lunch and much enjoyed our visit. The room was permanently full, staff were all friendly and helpful and the meals were reasonably priced. The highlight was their Bakewell pudding. It may not be the classic recipe but it is very tasty!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Huge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Disney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for one night on Good Friday. Had a lovely meal in the pub first which we were really impressed with......but then we checked in...... As soon as we opened the door we noticed that the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there was a lot of big bits all over the carpets that you couldn't miss, a sure warning sign to what the rest of the room would be like. The en suite was filthy, mould on the ceiling, thick dust on the door & poo splatters in the toilet from previous guest(s) However the towels & bed linen looked clean & fresh. Mugs were dirty & we had to clean them before we made a drink in the morning. Such a shame & a let down for the Castle Inn : (

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying until its given a thorough clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinetreelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff friendly and welcoming.
Had a decent sleep.
Breakfast very enjoyable (but should have been included in the room price).
However - room and en suite needed (a) titivating, and (b) a thorough clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACROTERION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#14 of 44 in Bakewell
416 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Bakewell

Property: Castle Inn Bakewell
Address: Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle Inn Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing