We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub but filthy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn Bakewell
Ranked #6 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for one night on Good Friday. Had a lovely meal in the pub first which we were really impressed with......but then we checked in...... As soon as we opened the door we noticed that the carpet hadn't been hoovered, there was a lot of big bits all over the carpets that you couldn't miss, a sure warning sign to what the rest of the room would be like. The en suite was filthy, mould on the ceiling, thick dust on the door & poo splatters in the toilet from previous guest(s) However the towels & bed linen looked clean & fresh. Mugs were dirty & we had to clean them before we made a drink in the morning. Such a shame & a let down for the Castle Inn : (

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying until its given a thorough clean!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinetreelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Castle Inn Bakewell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 390 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff friendly and welcoming.
Had a decent sleep.
Breakfast very enjoyable (but should have been included in the room price).
However - room and en suite needed (a) titivating, and (b) a thorough clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACROTERION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our second stay here and unlikely to be the last. Staff were again superb, friendly barmaid checked us in. Large room, tv, kettle, sofa, wardrobe. A little bit of tlc needed. a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. bet then again it doesn't claim to be the Ritz!

Great location for the town centre, literally a stones throw away from the main road. There is a a little noise from the traffic, but keeping the curtains closed helps keep it quiet. Lovely comfy bed.

Great food, had a special deal on a Sunday night, 2 roast dinners for under £10, and no cutting back on portions either. My wife and I shared a plate of nachos, and a roast dinner each and were full. Thumbs up to the waiter, sorry we didn't get his name, but very friendly without being on top of you. Total cost for the starter, 2 mains and a bottle of wine, £26 and worth every penny.

For the money, this place is a gem.

Room Tip: Only stayed in room 3, but it's a good sized room facing the front.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicostag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed with my hubby after lovely day round Bakewell. Great beer, lovely coffee and obviously popular with the locals too! Comfy bedroom, no pub noise and private too. One of the best breakfasts I've had and I've a sampled a fair few, served with much enthusiasm and very promptly. Will stay again

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ruthiejenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Spur of the moment escape & we found the Castle Inn...great location & even better accommodation.
Warm rooms & the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave!
Staff were very friendly & the food looked fab!
Would recommend!...definitely going back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babyface3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Called today for lunch, my partner, myself and our 3 young children. Food was excellent, very reasonable waiting time and the staff did everything they could to ensure we were comfortable and had a good experience, would definitely visit again and recommend to anyone. Very reasonably priced too. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lh8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Castle for drink on consecutive nights in mid December, drinks were expensive, staff were more interested in their little group of friends and other members of staff congregating at one end of the bar and generally the whole place was grimy, including the tables, it just looked uncared for, even on the Christmas tree only half the lights were working. Think we'll steer clear in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
1.7 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
225 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Bakewell

Address: Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing