We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Inn Bakewell
Ranked #6 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Came here for lunch on a recent visit to the Peak District. We chose it for lunch because it was dog friendly and it looked appealing from outside. Very friendly staff behind the bar, we were made to feel welcome and the house wine was really good. The menu was interesting and when the food came it was tasty and well presented. Enjoyed it very much and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    117
    48
    20
    19
See reviews for
69
198
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Castle Inn is a friendly, cosy, busy place. We stayed for two nights. Our room and en-suite were clean and spacious. Our bed was large and comfortable with crisp, white sheets. Tea and coffee were replenished. We were given fresh towels after the first night. There was a hair dryer, and a TV with good reception and access to a range of channels. An additional, nice touch would have been to have the bed remade after the first night. The shower was perfectly adequate but should also be first on the list for upgrading.

There had been a mix-up with our booking - easily rectified - but the welcome was not quite what it could have been. A busy bar/restaurant is always a good sign - the menu is extensive and the food well cooked - but it also means that it can take some time to check in since this also happens at the bar. However the friendly service over dinner and throughout our stay more than made up for any initial hiccups and our room quickly warmed up once we switched the heating on. The full English breakfast included excellent sausages and bacon but the breakfast as a whole would have benefited from fruit - apples, oranges or even a fruit salad. However, upgrades would possibly also mean a boost in prices which are currently very good value for money in my opinion.

Bakewell is a pretty, quaint, interesting place. We enjoyed the Monday market and strolling round the streets. It has easy access to several major motorways.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the street, but traffic noise vanishes completely during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downhillgeoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

From the welcome we were given on arrival to the farewell on leaving, we thoroughly enjoyed our short break at the Castle. The breakfasts were excellent (wonderful sausages!) and the fillet steaks in the evening were superb. We loved the decor of the bar and restaurant; cosy, warm and comfortable. There is a great range of well kept real ale available, as well as some very nice wines. The room itself was comfortable and warm with an enormous bed. The bathroom was a little tired and the shower could have been more powerful, but that was a tiny price to pay for such a pleasant and relaxing stay. The location of the Castle couldn't have been better either, as it was both a short stroll to the town centre as well as to the river and the endless walks beyond. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was the first time my husband and i had been to the Peak District area. There are currently four rooms at the Castle Inn . All have allocated parking space in car park.

Our room was a good average and served the purpose. we understood from the current manager that the rooms are due for a revamp following the pub refit. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was taken in the dining area of the pub and good value as too the evening food. friendly staff and obliging

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaryQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We recently stayed the night at The Castle Inn on the way to Lindisfarne, We could not fault the staff or the food, we both had steak and ale pie which was delicious and the staff were attentive but not pushy. However the bathroom in our room left a lot to be desired. We were in room 4, the shower was pitiful and really not that clean, in all very run down.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at the Castle Inn for 4 nights as part of a conference and enjoyed the stay. I do not know how much the room cost as it was part of the registration fee, but I am assuming it was not terribly expensive. The room was basic but comfortable, visibly retrofitted for modern comfort. Not everything worked well. For example, the shower was a heating-on-demand unit that positively sang in operation unless fiddled with constantly, and there was an art to flushing the toilet. The bed was okay but probably ready for a rest itself. The pub is a warm and inviting place where families and friends gather in the evening. This, the friendly staff, and the lovely old building are the biggest sell-points. In a word: character. The breakfast was just so so: One server (the owner I might guess) made good coffee but the other made watery Americano, and it seemed to be a choice between a heart-clogging pile of fried food or boxed cereal and toast. Despite these complaints, I really enjoyed my stay at The Castle and award 4 stars -- perhaps to help offset some of the really grumpy reviewers who didn't see the place for what it is, and perhaps because I don't know the room rate!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fangio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at The Castle Inn over August Bank Holiday weekend. The rooms were pleasant and are excellent value for money compared to other places in the local area. We found the bed very comfortable and we loved the from the egyptian cotton bed sheets. The breakfast is also excellent value for money, we paid £6.95 for a generous full english but also includes cereal , toast (fantastic bread), tea and orange juice. We also had an evening meal in the pub which was also good, meals are of a good size and puddings are also delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#12 of 44 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Bakewell

Property: Castle Inn Bakewell
Address: Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Inn Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing