We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again!”
Review of Piedaniels

Piedaniels
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $52
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Piedaniels on Easter Saturday. We had booked for lunch. It was very busy but the friendly staff were cool, calm and collected! It is nice to be able to wait for your table using their comfy settees. There was excellent choice on both the a la carte and the set menu. The quality of each course was excellent and well presented. The choice of wines and dessert wines complemented the meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    73
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bakewell”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

There is always a warm welcome at Piedaniel's, the food is excellent with great attention to detail and beautifully presented. There is a good variation of menus and the mid week table d'hôtel is excellent value. The wines are good too and the Pot Lyonnais is ideal for 2 when one is driving. It is popular with locals and visitors. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first visit and hadn't seen reviews so had no preconceived ideas.
The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived and all done with an element of good humour rather than stuffy efficiency.
The menu had a refreshing number of slightly unusual dishes that we have not seen in other restaurants along with some reliable favourites. Everything was very well presented and tasted very good.
All in all an excellent experience. If there was one negative for me it was that the prices seemed a little on the high side but I have paid more for a less enjoyable experience in othe places.
We will certainly be back when we are next in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachhut45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Back home in London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, charming environment”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Visited on Sat 12th April and was impressed. Great food and very friendly staff. Not OTT on prices either. Recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussBackinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

6 of us are here on a Saturday night. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was excellent and well presented. I would certainly recommend this restaurant. Great night..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Archieandabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedaniels also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Piedaniels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing