We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding meal in private dining room”

Piedaniel's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $54
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had our wedding meal at Piedaniels in the private dining room which seats about 18. We were really pleased with how everything went. The room itself was very nicely decorated and set out and there were French doors leading to a garden that we also enjoyed spending time in before the meal. The sparkling wine we had requested beforehand so that we could have a toast was being poured as we arrived. Everyone said they were impressed with the food-nicely presented and everything tasted really good. When a guest decided to have a dessert at the last minute this was accommodated without any issues. The service was excellent-very professional and all our requests were dealt with immediately. We are very pleased that we decided to have the wedding meal at Piedaniels-they helped to make the day even more special.

1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Piedaniel's Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

What can I say, this place never disappoints!! We have returned here many times and love it. The staff are fantastic and friendly, the decor is extremely classy and everywhere is spotlessly clean!
Now the food is first class and you can tell that it has been prepared by very passionate chefs, we would highly recommend Piedaniel's but we don't want to make it any more popular as we won't be able to get a table!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We tried Piedaniels based on the great reviews it gets here and the chap who told us it was the best restaurant in town as we browsed the menu outside. The decor is, as others have said, smart and clean. They have a slightly weird set-up where you're seated in the entrance area to have your orders taken and wait for your food to be cooked, I think this is an attempt at posh (I know lots of decent restaurants allow you to wait in the bar for a drink/nibbles/chat, but none of these were an option here, just the vague discomfort of sweaty leather upholstery) and the whole effect was more that of a dentist's waiting room. The staff were friendly and helpful initially, although once we had finished our mains and declined desert their efficiency at getting rid of us was almost pushy. And now onto the food... This was a dining experience straight out of the 70s. Melon balls with Pimms, goats cheese tart (quiche), overcooked, salty dry trout with a limp selection of veg which would have looked more at home on a microwaved Sunday roast. Two of us ordered the trout and one ended up with roast potatoes whilst I had some mash-like substance which was congealed and coated in a chewy skin. The third member of our party opted for ravioli which also arrived with the dreadful veg - who on earth serves potatoes and parsnips with pasta? It was also expensive - the sort of prices you'd expect to pay for a set lunch in London where you'd be assured much, much better food. Really disappointed - we'll go for well cooked, unpretentious fish and chips next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Lilly879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domfro94, Manager at Piedaniel's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

First of all thank you for you review, it helps us focus on ways to improve the food, service and experience we offer. In response to your comment regarding the "weird set up", I find it hard to understand what your complaint is, the area you are describing is the bar area where their is visibly a bar at which you can order drinks. We offer a wide selection of beverages (including liquors and wines) which you can be accompanied with olives or vegetable crisps as noted clearly on the top of the first page of the menu. We also have the opportunity for our customers to pre-order canapés before their visit if requested. If our staff did not approach you and ask you if you required any pre-dinner drinks nor offer you the opportunity to go straight to the table, I can only apologies as this is common courtesy in our restaurant which all the staff are aware of. We offer an A La Carte menu for our customers wanting a more substantial and spectacular meal and come up with brand new menus approximately every four weeks to give our diners an ever-changing dining experience. Therefore if food "straight out of the 70s" wasn't for you it'll soon be a totally different menu. I have passed on your complaints about the quality of the food onto the kitchen which I'm sure will be dealt with. We feel it's a pity that someone with such a list of complaints did not mention any of them at the time to a member of staff, which they would have been happy to help resolve. You're entitled to your own opinion but I'm yet to find a "posh" restaurant in London offering a 3 course set menu for £16.

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry Piedaniel's was not for you.

Kind Regards,
D.Piedaniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we had a first class meal here. All the food was well executed and presented.
The service was efficient and friendly and our requests for slight changes to the menu were happily accommodated.
The black pudding starter was lovely as was the pork and potato terrine, I had the lamb confit which wasn't as flavourful as I expected it to be but was still very nice.
The fillet of beef was really tender and tasty.
Excellent desserts too, which, as the portion sizes for the starter and main were within reason, we all had room for.
We would certainly go back, the price wasn't over the top for the quality of the place

1  Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bakewell has a lot of eateries but not of the more fine dining experience which this is. The a la carte menu is not vast but varied and the presentation and serving of the food is superb. From the moment of arrival you are greeted by warm, friendly and attentive staff offered a pre dinner drink whilst you amble though the menu before being shown to your table. We had a 7 o clock sitting as they do two sittings the next one being 9pm. If there was only one thing I would say that was negative is that you can feel a little rushed but I politely asked that they give us at least 10-15 minutes between each course in order to enjoy our dining experience which they duly did. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambience and plan to go back in December when we are there for another weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fifitrixiebelle36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedaniel's Restaurant also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Piedaniel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing