We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate, peaceful retreat with gorgeous views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anglophil...
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Immaculate, peaceful retreat with gorgeous views”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfect spot to explore the Peak District with all its vistas, stately homes and beautiful villages. Lots of history in the area. Cottage has everything you need, very thoughtfully supplied, and immaculate. Comfortable lounge and beds. Lovely garden outside the door. Best is the incredible view over Bakewell from the upstairs windows. We enjoyed our stay in the cottage and the area. Thank you Lucy and Mike!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinklefis...
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at The Cottage for a long weekend with my husband and 4 month old daughter. On arrival at the cottage parking proved to be fairly straightforward although I imagine in summer it may get quite busy. A parking permit was provided. Upon entry into the cottage we were greeted by a tray of tea, coffee, milk and a pack of biscuits - very gratefully received following a 3 hour car journey with a baby.

The Cottage has literally everything you might need for a stay, including loo roll, dishwasher tablets and even washing powder. The house must have been lived in as it was the best equipped kitchen I've ever seen in a holiday rental (garlic crusher!). The only thing it was lacking was a bread knife. The log burner had even been prepared so all we had to do was light it.

The property was spotless and looked pretty much exactly as the photos show. The master bedroom was enormous and plenty big enough for a travel cot. We didn't use the twin bedroom at all but it is a good size also, although not huge. There is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms too.

The location of the cottage is great, being very close to the town centre (pudding shop, 2 mins walk) and yet on a quiet street. A previous review mentioned the church bells but we didn't notice them at all.

I only have a couple of improvements that could be made: the radiators need bleeding as they are quite noisy when the heating comes on and the top half of the bathroom radiator is cold; A couple of extension cables for the socket behind the master bed would be useful as most people charge their phones at night and it would be good to not have to crawl under the bed to plug them in.

All in all we had a lovely weekend away and we will definitely consider staying again when the weather is a bit better.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cottage. Your comments were very encouraging and also informative. We will buy a new bread knife! Also some extension cables as you suggested for phone chargers etc. Thanks for letting us know about the radiators needing bleeding - we'll get straight on to that too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage - well located”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice cottage. Well located and convenient to the village of Bakewell. The owners was attentive and helpful. Would definitely return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bob D
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A loo with a view !”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Cottage in Bakewell during 1 week in July.
Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the location of the cottage : close to the bustling little town of Bakewell but really quit. The cottage was very well equipped and the litte garden a real extra. We had very nice weather so we could eat outside which we really enjoyed.
The upstairs loo has a spectacular view, which was also appreciated very much.
Bakewell is a cosy town where you can find everything you need : shops, pubs and restaurants for everyone's taste.
We want to thank Lucy for the BBQ she brought over !
There is one remark my husband wants me to mention : the cottage is near the church and the bells are audible every 15 minutes. That takes a while to get used to !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedding. The loo
Liked least: The churchbel's
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne96...
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Lovely cottage close to the heart of Bakewell”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A lovely, cozy cottage, very near to the heart of beautiful Bakewell. Lucy is a fabulous host; very responsive and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if going back to the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andymilla...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely property, well equipped and full of character. Fantastic location - quiet, but very close to all amenities. Very helpful owners. A perfect stay!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing