We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because I like it”
Review of Because I Like It

Because I Like It
Ranked #4 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Because I Like It is a tearooms, with gluten-free,dairy-free and vegan options, as well as a gift shop and gallery in the centre of the beautiful Peak District town of Bakewell, Derbyshire.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I'm a regular customer and wouldn't come back time and again if this little 'gem' of Bakewell wasn't 'top-notch!'
The wide variety of food is always freshly cooked and locally sourced - the home-made soups are absolutely delicious!
Eating 'al fresco' in one of the prettiest courtyards in Bakewell is bliss!
Fantastic service, friendly and helpful owners and excellent food! The lunch times have been great - can't wait to try the Greek cuisine at the newly introduced Bistro Nights on Thursday evenings.
Jean

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValH21, Owner at Because I Like It, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Jean
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy your regular visits to Because I Like It. We take pride in the freshness of our food, and we are really glad that you enjoy the food we serve and the peaceful setting of our cafe.

Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 130 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place, only intended to stay for a couple of brews but ended up staying for lunch aswell. Good range of speciality teas supplied by birdhouse teas in Sheffield which you are able to try and buy (highly recommend muddy boots & well dressed). Lovely cakes and very tasty bacon Brie and cranberry panini. Staff are attentive and friendly. Lovely unique gifts also available in the shop. Can't wait to go again.

Thank Gemmacloud141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValH21, Owner at Because I Like It, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.. We are very proud of the Birdhouse teas as we feel they are superior to others we have tried and were thrilled to be on the inception of the Peak District range. Therefore it was a pleasure serving you and your friends with tasters of the different teas and hear your comments on them.
We look forward to seeing you all again.
Regards from the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We are regular visitors to Bakewell and decided to grab some lunch on our latest visit. We sat outside in the pretty courtyard as it was a sunny day.

After being sat for a while, perusing the menu (on a piece of A4 paper in the centre of the table) we ordered inside (not table service). We asked if we could have chips as a side order with our Panini's - which we could have for an extra £1.50.

When the food came out it was pleasant, but the bacon on my Panini was very fatty and the side salad was a little basic. The chips were soggy oven chips and a small portion (for £1.50 I was expecting a little better).

The total bill was about £19 - which for two basic Panini "sandwiches", a small portion of chips, a black coffee and a lemonade we thought was steep.

The waiting staff were friendly but the service was slow

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sairsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValH21, Owner at Because I Like It, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to us, particularly as many customers have commented that they think we give good value for our meals, and I would like to respond to each point made.
Yes, the chips were oven chips. We do not have chips on our menu and do not have the facilities to fry as this would involve landlord, planning and building consents for what would be a small return. However, we did try to accommodate your request for an off-menu item and only charged £1.50, less than most places in Bakewell charge because of this reason.
Side salads are also not on our menu, it is stated that it is a salad garnish and therefore is only mixed leaves and several cherry tomato halves. we can make full side salads if requested.
i am sorry that your bacon was fatty, but we use larger than standard panini sandwiches, with the extra filling required and you had bacon, brie and cranberry on them, so not sure why you consider this a very basic panini sandwich. There are certainly more basic and cheaper paninis.
i am sorry you found the service was slow, but unfortunately, especially in busy periods, using our ovens to do off-menu items does slow the service down too.
Finally, thank you for your kind comment regarding the serving staff. They always try to be as friendly and helpful as they can to our customers - Because I Like It Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Carly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-Director, Owner at Because I Like It, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Because I Like It also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Because I Like It? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing