We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maxine L
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 11, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I booked this beautiful house to celebrate my 50th birthday with my family. We were a party of 15 adults, 2 children and 1 baby. The house easily accommodated all of us over 3 floors. All the bedrooms were large and had en suite bathrooms. The house was beautifully decorated with attention to detail and all modern conveniences.
We were greeted on arrival to home baked chocolate brownies and fresh flowers. We were lucky with the weather and were able to make good use of the large gardens which the children enjoyed and we were able to make use of the bbq. The dining table is huge easily seating us all with room to spare. The views from all the rooms are spectacular and we enjoyed plenty of walks and pub grub locally. 2 pubs are virtually on the doorstep. A short drive away we visited Bakewell and the village of Eyam. There are plenty of things to do in the area.
I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for room for a large gathering. The owners Neil and Jackie were very welcoming and always available to speak to us if we needed anything. Many thanks for your hospitality.
I would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect place for any large family gathering.”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This wonderful large accommodation in Monsal Head, was the perfect setting for our family celebrations. Rather than have several small parties, as a family, we decided to enjoy a large family holiday.
We were welcomed with fresh homemade chocolate brownies, and lovely fresh flowers. The rooms were clean fresh and more than comfortable.
Our grandchildren who attended with us, were not short of games, toys and the outdoor space to run around and play. We had a great patio area with a large barbecue which we used on our last day.

The scenery was magnificent and we enjoyed some lovely walks. We also had a couple of evening meals out locally. The first was at “The Monsal Head Hotel”,and the second at “ThePackhorse”. Both really nice food, but, “The Packhorse”,was my particular favourite.

Back at Castle Cliffe, we celebrated our special birthdays, in the beautiful dining room. We enjoyed a Murder Mystery night, which we planned before our arrival, and all dressed for the ocassion. The owner who came to water her flowers, kindly took photos of us all.

We had such good fun here, and would have stayed an extra night if the accommodation had been available. However places as perfect as this are hard to come by.

So a big thank you to the owners, and we do hope to come back very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Spent a glorious week at Castle Cliff welcomed with fresh flowers and home made brownies which was such a lovely touch. The accommodation lacked nothing a great deal of thought had gone into making sure everything is catered for. Our party of 15 adults and 2 kiddies 1 baby has everything we could of possibly needed. Clean comfortable and a great location with magnificent views. I could not daily. Will definitely recommend and use again.
Thank you Jackie and Neil

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki S
Woodchurch, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

booked for a family celebration with having an 18th, 21st and 50th in the same year we thought it would be nice to go away together. House was beautiful with more than enough room to sleep the 15 adults and 3 children in our party. Lovely and clean throughout and incredible views. The house had everything we needed including garden games, travel cot and highchair and much to my 10 month olds delight a box of trains along with books other games and dvds. Is located walking distance to 2 great pubs and lovely country walk routes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquibur...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“80 th Birthday Celebration for the family”
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Thank you Neil and Jackie for a wonderful weekend at Castle Cliffe. You have thought of everything a group could need for their stay. Well presented and clean accommodation, well appointed bedroom majority ensuite, some with baths ( ideal when you have little ones) . Plenty of space and things to do for young and old , ideal for the energetic with lots of walks, and space for those who just wanted to relax. It was just right for our family get together with an age range of 6 months to
80!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazelcuth...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A well appointed large house in a perfect location for a family celebration”
Reviewed May 5, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We recently enjoyed our second family gathering in Castle Cliffe. The house is very welcoming, spotlessly clean,comfortable and well furnished with plenty of room for everyone to relax. The dining hall has a table large enough to to seat all the party in one sitting and there is an ample supply of china and cutlery which is a great help when catering for a large party.
Outside there is plenty of garden seating and safe space for children to play. We found lovely walks nearby and two pubs as well.
The chocolate brownies on arrival were a real treat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had the most amazing weekend family get together in Castle Cliffe. The house is beautiful, spacious and very well equipped. It is perfect for a break with multiple families as nearly all the bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. There are loads of walks right on the doorstep and a great pub round the corner (packhorse inn) so after we arrived we didn't use our car again. We were celebrating a special birthday and the house was great for this with a huge dining table (we arranged for some catering from scoff for one night which was very good) and great entertaining space with a fab wood burning stove. The owners were so helpful and provided yummy brownies. Everything we hoped for and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing