We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a beautiful location”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had the most amazing weekend family get together in Castle Cliffe. The house is beautiful, spacious and very well equipped. It is perfect for a break with multiple families as nearly all the bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. There are loads of walks right on the doorstep and a great pub round the corner (packhorse inn) so after we arrived we didn't use our car again. We were celebrating a special birthday and the house was great for this with a huge dining table (we arranged for some catering from scoff for one night which was very good) and great entertaining space with a fab wood burning stove. The owners were so helpful and provided yummy brownies. Everything we hoped for and more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibblewhi...
2 reviews
“Lovely, spacious house”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a lovely stay at Castle Cliffe. The house was beautifully presented and easily accommodated our large group in its spacious rooms. We had great fun playing the games that were provided and playing in the snow was a welcome bonus for the children. With beautiful walks and lovely pubs around, the location is great.
We’ll definitely be booking again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy S
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Snowed in!”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a lovely house with a really comfortable feel. Plenty of room for 16 adults and 5 children. Clean and well maintained with lots of kitchen equipment and a table big enough to seat us all easily.
Real fires for an extra cosy feel, lots of books and games for everyone, and a television we never watched.
Added bonuses, brownies in the kitchen on arrival, snow, a pub within easy walking distance and the Monsal trail.
A truly wonderful weekend retreat. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lew9
darlington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm dreaming of a white Christmas!”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

WOW! What a fantastic place to stay. The snow in Derbyshire made for a perfect setting for our Christmas reunion, but it was topped off by an amazing house. Everything was perfect for what we needed. Spacious, clean, great decorations, friendly and helpful hosts, lovely treats and extras just everything you would need for your stay. We have stayed in a number of houses over the years and I can honestly say this has to be the best. Would definitely recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyfox42
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a fabulous time at Castle Cliffe. 22 of us stayed at the house - 7 families - and there was plenty of room. The bedrooms were nice, and it was great to have enough ensuites/bathrooms. Plenty of seating downstairs. We mostly ate out at lovely local pubs. Lots of great walks nearby on your doorstep. Only minor downside for me was the Aga but as I said we mostly ate out so it wasn’t a big problem. We plan to return in 2018 so it must have been good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenmou...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for a college reunion”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fantastic time at Castle Cliffe for our annual college reunion. The location is perfect for access onto the bike trail to Bakewell and some fantastic pub walks around Monsal Head. The house is very well equipped and the layout works well for family groups coming together. Thank you and we hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stbotolph...
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious house for family meet up”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We all had a great week at Castle Cliffe
Really lovely warm house. Great venue for big group - space to do things together and separately. Packhorse pub is very friendly with good food.
Went on some fab walks and the younger children loved The heights of Abraham - they enjoyed hide and seek in the house best of all though.
Hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing