We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeremy and Barbara were fantastic hosts.”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Haven is perfectly located for Bakewell town centre and numerous walks. I never realised Bakewell was such a tourist spot so the offer of free parking is actually quite a good offer. I stayed in the Ground Floor "flexible room" which offers a double bed and a sofa bed if needed. The double bed was nice and comfy and the whole room and large double shower en-suite very comfortable. Breakfast offered a large choice and the filled oatcakes were very tasty. Having spent quite a bit of time looking for accommodation, the ability to spend just one night here on a weekend was a bonus as all other b&bs seemed to request 2 night stay and the value for money was actually very comparable if not better value than many of the other b&bs around Bakewell, so overall - a very nice relaxing stay and very good value for money.

My only very small gripe was the curtains in the room were very thin so by 6:30 as the sun was up the room was very bright.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingforanotherwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for The Haven B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 312 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Decided to treat ourselves to a night away in Bakewell. We were unable to get into our usual B and B so booked here and weren't disappointed.
Lovely friendly hosts, great breakfast. Rooms and beds very comfortable.
We had the front room with great views over the cricket field.
5 minute walk into Bakewell. Excellent position and off road parking. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fionalcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Visited here, having read TripAdvisor recommendations. It lived up to, indeed exceeded, our expactations. The whole place was absolutely spotless. The room was so comfortable, with everything we could possibly need. Breakfast was just perfect - my wife is still drooling about the oatcakes.
And Jeremy is the perfect host with lots of local knowledge, discount deals negotiated in local shops and restaurants for his guests, and a house full of art produced by a very talented family. He is so accommodating - we arrived early but no problem with parking in the carpark and the warmest of warm welcomes. When we revisit Bakewell, where to stay is a no-brainer. Five minutes from the centre overlooking the park - where could be better?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trogblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review. So many kind comments.
We are glad the breakfasts met with your approval and your wife enjoyed the home made oatcakes. We try to help our guests as much as we can and a good local knowledge (being born and raised in this area) helps.
You noticed and appreciated the Art too, that's great to know. We do have some acclaimed Artists in the family and we are lucky to have some pieces by them dotted about.
If you are in Bakewell again we would love to look after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A lovely, family-run B&B in the picturesque town of Bakewell. Jeremy and Barbara are friendly hosts. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts are top quality (Barbara is very proud of her home made Derbyshire oatcakes - and rightly so!) and the location is ideal, just a 5 min stroll along the riverside to the town centre. Good value too, I was given a very reasonable deal for my four night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_in_kenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. It really was a pleasure to look after you, you were great company. Thank you for your kind comments about the oatcakes and breakfast, we do try our very best to provide a healthy and tasty breakfast experience. Whatever path you take, all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews on this B&B and expecting a nice stay in this lovely town we were disappointed to say the least.At 75 quid for the night we thought it wasn't particularly good value.A few things spoilt our stay from the small room,poor tea making facilities(The milk was off) and stored above a radiator and in sunlight??,the carpet gripper at the entrance to the bathroom was loose and the TV would not work on ITV.Aside from these faults,it was a friendly greeting we recieved and the breakfast wasn't too bad,but little choice was on offer.Another minor gripe was the fact we didn't book as you usually do and we never recieved a receipt after paying for our room.Sadly,if we visit this lovely town we won't be looking to stay here again!.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven. We are sorry you didn't have a good stay with us.
The actual cost of the room you were in is £80 for one night on a Saturday and we charged you £75. We know that our charges are not in the top range for similar establishments in Bakewell and we haven't increased our charges for 2014.
The room sizes can be checked on the 360 degree video on google and our largest (but more expensive room) is the ground floor room. There is also a photograph of the room you were in on Tripadvisor and on our Facebook page.
The long life milk has always been fine on the window cill as it is in a container. I am afraid I don't know what happened there and can't investigate after the event but do apologise.
We hadn't noticed the loose carpet gripper and thank you for advising us of that, it is now fixed.
The reception for TV and broadband in Bakewell can some times be temperamental but that is outside of our control. Some times it can be rectified by finer tuning but only if we are advised. Poor reception does happen but it's not a regular occurrence and we are sorry it happened whilst you were with us. The bad weather experienced recently can also contribute to poor reception.
We are sorry our breakfast choices weren't sufficient for your needs but are pleased you thought us friendly.
If you had pointed out our oversight and asked for a receipt we would have provided you with one.
We would agree with your conclusion, another establishment would be a better choice to meet your particular needs, on any future visit to Bakewell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on New Years Eve with friends. Barbara welcomed us and gave us some useful information regarding the area and local eatery's. Room was very well decorated and en-suite bathroom was modern with an excellent shower!

We found Jeremy to be an excellent host over breakfast and extremely easy to talk to, Barbara by the way makes an excellent English breakfast.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this well run, welcoming and comfy B&B to anyone looking to spend some time in the Peak District and hopefully we will return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so very pleased we helped to make your New Year a special occasion. Hopefully we will see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Looked for ages for somewhere for my hubby's birthday weekend away...after reading other reviews on here, decided to book 2 night stay. Lovely room with all facilities, handy off-road parking, shower in the en-suite was excellent. Room clean and tidy, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfast and recommendations on where to eat. Conveniently located for all local amenities and travelling further afield. would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review we appreciate all your kind and positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us and Bakewell so convenient with ample amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing