We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finishing touches”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #7 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Finishing touches”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a very conveniently located B&B which is actually on the corner of Haddon Rd and Holywell. Haddon Rd is reasonably long and The Haven's location is not accurately shown on Google Maps, nor the address given with any further detail on either TA or the property's own website... As other reviewers have mentioned,The Haven is a large, quiet and pleasantly decorated Victorian house looking out across the main road to cricket fields, and backing on to a housing area with trees on a ridge line in the middle distance. It is one of those properties with many notices for guests - on the noticeboard, near the noticeboard, on the main banister, attached to the front door, on the servery etc. Some of these are in need of updating, such as the one where correcting tape has been applied over the "salad" of fruit salad as a breakfast option, and a change made to the egg options for the English breakfast. Another indicates the need to submit breakfast choices by 10pm the night before, to "avoid congestion" in the dining room, which is not large enough to seat all the guests should they arrive simultaneously. Similarly the guest lounge, where wireless internet access is reliable, seats 4 and is not be used after 10pm or before 8am.

Our room was pleasant; the hospitality tray was from Twinings though the tea on it was Tetleys, along with Nescafe coffee. There was only one teaspoon which we had thought was an oversight, but if so, one that was repeated throughout our stay. Bathroom amenities consisted of a small basket containing several sachets of "shampoo conditioner", cotton buds, cotton wool balls and several cotton makeup pads, along with antibacterial handwash in a pump dispenser at the hand basin; this was presumably also intended for use in the shower as no alternative was provided. None of the basket items was replenished during our stay.

Breakfast our first morning was disappointing, particularly as we typically choose to have cereal with fruit salad and yoghurt. Yoghurt was not available at all, and although several pieces of fruit were offered, the cereals with ancillary nuts and dried fruit were not well replenished from the guests who had arrived before us. The meats in the English breakfast seemed to have spent quite a while in the warming drawer (wrinkled sausage, dried bacon) and the coffee was instant. Our second morning we went to a pub in Rowsley for breakfast and for our third returned to the Haven where we adapted our choices based on the first day's experience; we left much happier.

For location and convenience we would probably return to the Haven but feel there are a number of small and inexpensive changes which could significantly improve guest experience. These would include providing a small bar of solid soap and a face cloth in the bathroom, offering plunger coffee and "user friendly" fruit such as grapes at breakfast (sticky fingers from slicing juicy fruit is never pleasant), matching the number of teaspoons to the number of guests in the bedrooms and reviewing the guest notices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven we do appreciate your feedback and would like to respond.

The google position of our property is based on a shared postcode and the full address is shown both on our website and also on Tripadvisor. We have had this amended several times to show the exact location of our property for it to be changed without our knowing at a later date. We try to keep on top of these things but do not have the time to police this.

Thank you for the description of our property and its location. We do however have a 360 degree video on google street view that shows the outside of the house, the inside of the house, the garden and the surrounding area which prospective guests might like to peruse.

The house is our home as well as guest accommodation and we need to ensure we, our home and all our guests are treated with respect by those of our guests who unlike yourself are apt to forget that- hence the need for notices. The notice to remind people how to advise us of breakfast choices by 10pm the night before is not to avoid congestion in the dining room its so we can offer a full choice at breakfast from a small kitchen with 2 people to cook and wait on. We do ask people to arrive at the agreed time for breakfast to avoid congestion. This is to avoid everyone queuing at the breakfast bar and arriving for cooked foods, all different, at the same time. Our dining area can be viewed on the 360 degree video and it is clear that there is one table for each of our 6 rooms and everyone can fit in at the same time but for efficacy of preparation and serving and also comfort we stagger breakfasts. The lounge which you have stated sits 4 is also on the 360 degree view and anyone can see it has a double and a triple sofa and also a chair. The reason the lounge is not available from 10pm to 8am is because there is a guest bedroom above and those guests I have mentioned previously who may forget about the comfort of others are apt to overstay and be noisy impacting on the guests above. The provision of a guest lounge is not a requirement for a 4* rating and we see it as an additional free comfort (all be it time limited) for all our guests. The menu in the hall is amended from time to time and if we had more time I agree a freshly amended and printed menu sheet would be perfect.

The internet in rural areas and country towns is not as efficient as in cities and is out of our control. It also depends on the efficacy of your equipment. Our ipad is amazingly efficient at picking the signal up throughout the house. We do not hide this fact and advise in our terms and conditions that internet is free and depends on location in the house, signal strength and the efficacy of your equipment.

I am pleased you found your room pleasant and thank you for pointing out the Twinning’s tray didn’t match the Tetley tea and Nescafe coffee so will change the tray. I apologise for the housekeeping faults and will ensure the teaspoons match the number of guests, the toiletries are replenished and soap is provided. If you had asked we would have acknowledged our shortfall, apologised and provided you with anything that was missing.

I am sorry and apologise that you found breakfast disappointing however we have very many guests who thoroughly enjoy what we have to offer and who come back time and time again. However you did say on your second visit to our dining room you adapted your choices and were happy. I am assuming you chose one of our alternative breakfasts either the oatcakes, pancakes or scrambled eggs with salmon perhaps? All of which we offer every day and not just one daily “special” as an alternative choice to the Full English breakfast to maintain the 4*.

Thank you for summarising the improvements you think we could make at the end of your post we will certainly take time to review them constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
194
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend away, and it was the perfect choice. It´s a lovely victorian house with a beautiful garden. The parking is a plus as it´s really difficult to park in Bakewell. It´s only 5 minutes walk to the center of town. I stayed in a bedroom on the 2nd floor, lovely views, nice decoration (even a chimney in the room) and ensuite good size shower room. The owners are lovely and will provide you with all the info you need, including restaurants recommendation, and you get a discount for staying in the Haven. For breakfast you have a wide choice including English Breakfast, vegetarian options, pancakes...The breakfast room is nicely decorated and it overlooks the garden. The food quality (homemade jams) is fantastic. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaga.Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven we truly appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in the ground floor room at The Haven. Bakewell is a very nice small town and this b and b is a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the centre. Although it is on a fairly busy road, it was quiet at night. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast well cooked and plentiful. There is a lot to see in this area and the countryside is beautiful. Bakewell is an ideal base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review The Haven. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. It's an easy 5 min walk to Bakewell centre or via another route a nice 10 min stroll by the river.
We stayed in the room on the top floor which was really lovely, it has an old fireplace and nice furniture. There's also a bathroom with a shower which is a good shower with different spray settings. The rooms have towels and also complimentary toiletries which was nice.
I've always been sceptical about staying in b&bs as I find the idea a bit odd, to stay in someone else's house, but the owners here are just great, we felt very welcome but it was not at all overbearing. From booking our room to arriving and Jeremy the owner gave us some advice on where to eat and has also secured discounts with lots of places in Bakewell! We took his recommendations and used his discounts for both meals out and both were great choices!
I'm not big on breakfasts but the breakfasts at the b&b are very good, full English is great and also these bacon and cheese oatcakes wraps which were yummy! My boyfriend choose salmon and scrambled eggs one day and he also said that was excellent. Barbara the other owner also makes these nice marmalades from scratch!
Another thing I thought was really great for a b&b was that when we came back to our room after our day out, our room had been tidied and it was literally spotless! Now we'd left our room pretty messy with our things everywhere as we'd been in a rush to get out for the day but it was so tidy and all my things were neatly lined up on the side table, I just thought it was so nice to come back to and such attention to detail. Rooms also have hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee facilities and tv. The b&b also has parking for guests. We would definitely recommend the b&b to anyone visiting Bakewell.

Room Tip: If you are happy to climb the extra stairs choose the room on the top floor! Nicely decorated, old f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietrose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It always pleases us when we hear our guests have had a good time. Thank you for your review of The Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family booked four rooms as we were attending a wedding. for which the recepetion was held just 2 miles from Bakewell. The location of the Haven is ideal for walking into town through the park, just across the road, and then alongside a pretty riverside walk. Our accomodation was excellent and one daughter, husband and baby had the ground floor room, which is more like a small cottage, with its own entrance. The rest of the family had 2 rooms on the first floor and 1 on the second floor. The accomoidation was first class, the rooms spotless and with good bathroom facilities. Each room had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Jeremy & Barbara are extremely wellcoming and provided us with a good and varied breakfast in a most pleasant dining room. Tables were set so that we could be together. It is only from time to time that the family can get together and the Haven made the experience that much more pleasurable. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends and I'm sure the family will be back at some time..

Room Tip: Ground floor good if you have a young child or mobility problems. Top floor can be very warm in hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased we were able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable occasion. It was great to have you and your lovely family stay with us, the pleasure was also ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this b&b for my birthday weekend (28-30 June 2013) for myself and husband. We had the first floor room overlooking the park - beautiful. The room was lovely and clean. Nice traditional furniture with an extremely comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, With complimentary toiletries and towels. Tea/coffee making with biscuits. Jeremy and Barbara are lovely warm people and very welcoming. They have arranged discounts at different eateries, very useful. Breakfast is lovely with a good choice. The b&b is in a great location being only a couple of minutes walk from the town. Can highly recommend the Italian Felicini where you get a discount from using the Havens card. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants to find. The Haven overall is a lovely place to stay for a weekend or longer? Will return.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Haven we really appreciate your taking the time to do this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy and comfortable in the front bedroom. We do hope you will return to stay with us some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We actually stayed at the Haven in October 2012 but it's taken me an embarassingly long time to write this review.

This was the third consecutive year that we have stayed at the Haven and it was as lovely as ever. Jeremy and Barabara were the perfect hosts and the downstairs room that we stayed in was newly and beautifully decorated with everything that we needed. The breakfasts were particularly good, the introduction of oatcakes to the menu is inspired and they are quite deliceous. It takes a lot to tempt me away from their traditional full English breakfast but the oatcakes succeeded!

We will be returning to The Haven this year and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Peak District. The location is excellent being just a short walk from the centre of town but with lovely views and the convenience of a private car park. It's a fantastic place - don't look anywhere else, just book it!

Room Tip: The top floor room has lovely views although there are a few stairs as you'd expect. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxLove2Travelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was great to have you with us again and a pleasure to look after you. Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#18 of 44 in Bakewell
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing