We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally situated for the Peak District”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Ideally situated for the Peak District”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in the ground floor room at The Haven. Bakewell is a very nice small town and this b and b is a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the centre. Although it is on a fairly busy road, it was quiet at night. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the breakfast well cooked and plentiful. There is a lot to see in this area and the countryside is beautiful. Bakewell is an ideal base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review The Haven. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    39
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
184
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. It's an easy 5 min walk to Bakewell centre or via another route a nice 10 min stroll by the river.
We stayed in the room on the top floor which was really lovely, it has an old fireplace and nice furniture. There's also a bathroom with a shower which is a good shower with different spray settings. The rooms have towels and also complimentary toiletries which was nice.
I've always been sceptical about staying in b&bs as I find the idea a bit odd, to stay in someone else's house, but the owners here are just great, we felt very welcome but it was not at all overbearing. From booking our room to arriving and Jeremy the owner gave us some advice on where to eat and has also secured discounts with lots of places in Bakewell! We took his recommendations and used his discounts for both meals out and both were great choices!
I'm not big on breakfasts but the breakfasts at the b&b are very good, full English is great and also these bacon and cheese oatcakes wraps which were yummy! My boyfriend choose salmon and scrambled eggs one day and he also said that was excellent. Barbara the other owner also makes these nice marmalades from scratch!
Another thing I thought was really great for a b&b was that when we came back to our room after our day out, our room had been tidied and it was literally spotless! Now we'd left our room pretty messy with our things everywhere as we'd been in a rush to get out for the day but it was so tidy and all my things were neatly lined up on the side table, I just thought it was so nice to come back to and such attention to detail. Rooms also have hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee facilities and tv. The b&b also has parking for guests. We would definitely recommend the b&b to anyone visiting Bakewell.

Room Tip: If you are happy to climb the extra stairs choose the room on the top floor! Nicely decorated, old f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietrose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It always pleases us when we hear our guests have had a good time. Thank you for your review of The Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family booked four rooms as we were attending a wedding. for which the recepetion was held just 2 miles from Bakewell. The location of the Haven is ideal for walking into town through the park, just across the road, and then alongside a pretty riverside walk. Our accomodation was excellent and one daughter, husband and baby had the ground floor room, which is more like a small cottage, with its own entrance. The rest of the family had 2 rooms on the first floor and 1 on the second floor. The accomoidation was first class, the rooms spotless and with good bathroom facilities. Each room had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Jeremy & Barbara are extremely wellcoming and provided us with a good and varied breakfast in a most pleasant dining room. Tables were set so that we could be together. It is only from time to time that the family can get together and the Haven made the experience that much more pleasurable. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends and I'm sure the family will be back at some time..

Room Tip: Ground floor good if you have a young child or mobility problems. Top floor can be very warm in hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased we were able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable occasion. It was great to have you and your lovely family stay with us, the pleasure was also ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this b&b for my birthday weekend (28-30 June 2013) for myself and husband. We had the first floor room overlooking the park - beautiful. The room was lovely and clean. Nice traditional furniture with an extremely comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, With complimentary toiletries and towels. Tea/coffee making with biscuits. Jeremy and Barbara are lovely warm people and very welcoming. They have arranged discounts at different eateries, very useful. Breakfast is lovely with a good choice. The b&b is in a great location being only a couple of minutes walk from the town. Can highly recommend the Italian Felicini where you get a discount from using the Havens card. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants to find. The Haven overall is a lovely place to stay for a weekend or longer? Will return.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Haven we really appreciate your taking the time to do this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy and comfortable in the front bedroom. We do hope you will return to stay with us some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We actually stayed at the Haven in October 2012 but it's taken me an embarassingly long time to write this review.

This was the third consecutive year that we have stayed at the Haven and it was as lovely as ever. Jeremy and Barabara were the perfect hosts and the downstairs room that we stayed in was newly and beautifully decorated with everything that we needed. The breakfasts were particularly good, the introduction of oatcakes to the menu is inspired and they are quite deliceous. It takes a lot to tempt me away from their traditional full English breakfast but the oatcakes succeeded!

We will be returning to The Haven this year and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Peak District. The location is excellent being just a short walk from the centre of town but with lovely views and the convenience of a private car park. It's a fantastic place - don't look anywhere else, just book it!

Room Tip: The top floor room has lovely views although there are a few stairs as you'd expect. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxLove2Travelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was great to have you with us again and a pleasure to look after you. Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked fairly last minute and were delighted to find this lovely b&b 5 mins walk from the centre of bakewell available. The semi detached house overlooked a park and river framed by wooded hills and was had been beautifully renovated in keeping with its character. We stayed in the top ensuite double 'attic' room that overlooked the garden at the back of the house...very peaceful and beautifully arranged with a comfy large double bed, power shower tea coffee biscuits and plasma tv...what more could you wish for! Jeremy and Barbara were more than accommodating arranging yummy vegetarian breakfast options and soya milk for us. They also had great discounts arranged through the b&b with restaurants in bakewell and the local bike hire centre which was very useful and saved us a few bob on the trip! They were very informative and friendly even giving us the detailed farmers forecast in the morning so we could best plan our day! All in all a fantastic stay...would recommend to all and definitely would come again...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven and for your positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked this B&B to take my girlfreind away to propose to her so the stakes were high. Barbara and Jeremy were in on the secret and helped so much in preparing the room and moving champagne and flowers about without my girlfreind seeing. These guys really go that extra mile in making you feel at home and comfortable, it was like staying with freinds rather than a business. The rooms are like a hotel and the food like a resturant. There is also off-road parking which Jeremy allowed us to stay in after we checked out. So glad we found this B&B and look forward to staying here again. Thankyou both so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you and to have a small part in making your special event memorable. We do hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
206 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing