We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glorious Haven at Bakewell”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Glorious Haven at Bakewell”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just had two great days at the Haven B&B at Bakwell and having read the reviews beforehand we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were met by Jeremy who couldn't do enough for us, gave us the local knowledge on the town including recommendations on where to eat at discounted prices which we took up. Room was lovely and ensuite was spacious with excellent power shower and bed very comfortable. The Haven was in an ideal location situated five mintes walk into the town centre. We are already planning to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkS405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and are hoping to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
191
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend in Bakewell. It snowed...a lot. We couldn't really do too much and spent a lot of time in the room. The room was very nice and always warm. The shower was big and everything was clean.

I can't say enough nice things about this place. We were very well looked after and we intend to stay there again once the weather warms up. I can't imagine there are many B&Bs around that can match these guys. It's obvious they take a lot of pride in what they do and we can't wait to go back so we can finish the Monsal Trail.

Minor tip. If you decide to book a room here don't trust google maps. Drive past where the map says Haven is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and your tip regarding google and sat nav directions. We have tried on many occasions to get it altered which they do but for some reason it always gets changed back. The best thing to do is to use the name of the road at the side of the house which is Holywell. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at The Haven and after reading the reviews beforehand it's safe to say Jeremy stays true to the standard praised through the previous reviews! We were given recommendations of what to do during our stay (including some great walks - Jeremy even offered us some walking gear too) and discount at a few local restaurants as soon as we arrived. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and Jeremy was on hand both mornings to have it ready for us at our convenience. The room was a nice size, perfectly clean and with an en suite (with a double shower!). Brilliant location with just a short walk into the town centre (about three minutes from the lovely Lavender Tea Rooms!). All in all a fantastic stay, we will definitely be returning and most definitely staying at The Haven. Rosie and Dan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be looking to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at the Haven, as before a nice welcoming b&b, nice rooms, a lovely breakfast and in Jeremy and Barbara a very nice couple. The discounts they have arranged at local restaurants are great and most welcome. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our second visit in 2012 and this time we took our friends along for a 3 night stay over the New Year. The fact that we returned with our friends says a lot because we are not easily pleased but it is a pleasure to stay with Jeremy and Barbara, it is like staying at a friends house except that you get an excellent breakfast at the Haven!
If you plan to visit Bakewell -and you should its delightful, then stay at the haven and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The annex gives you the ability to come and go as you please as it has a separate door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Haven for a long weekend for our first visit to Bakewell. Everything was good from the greeting, to the farewell. The room was perfectly clean and well presented with a modern look. Breakfast was lovely (especially Barbara's home made Derbyshire Oatcakes - yum).

Jeremy was very helpful in advising on local information and further afield. Both Jeremy and Barbara were very warm and welcoming which for me always adds to the experience as it puts you at ease from the get go.

All in All the stay was fab, bakewell was very nice and mainly unspoiled from supermarkets (Keep them away !) and large pub chains, good local shops and open markets with awesome produce. We loved it and will definately go back to Bakewell and will certainly check Haven first for accommodation.

Thank you Barbara and Jeremy for a lovely stay in your B&B/Home.
Kary and Anthony Brindle

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Brindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on The Haven and our hospitality. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our amenities.
Bakewell is as you say a lovely town with unusual shops selling everything from unusual foods to jewellery made by Artisans.
If you do return in future we would once again endeavour to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Haven and all I can say is.....wonderful .A cheery welcome from Jeremy the host on arrival, a spotlessly clean room overlooking a park and a lovely breakfast both mornings. Very helpful in local information and eating places around the town. If in the area again would have no doubt where to stay again......the Haven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other prospective guests. We really appreciate the comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our suggested activities.
We do hope you will stay with us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#14 of 44 in Bakewell
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
374 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing