We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you want from a B & B”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what you want from a B & B”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband. Room was in very good order with a large en suite bathroom and huge shower! Bed very comfy. Breakfast was lovely. The owner was really friendly, had good reccommendations for local pubs and restaurants. Gave us lots of local walks to try. The B & B is only about 5 min walk frim shops, pubs etc and sbout a 20 min walk from the start of the Monsal Trail, a flat 9 mile disused railway track, great for cycling. Nothing at all to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other guests. We really appreciate the comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our suggestions for walks and cycling on the nearby Monsal Trail were useful.
We do hope you will stay with us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
188
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Haven for 3 nights from 25 October for our wedding anniversary. The B&B is located on the main road into Bakewell opposite the park and a short stroll along the river side into the centre. There is plenty of off road parking which was great. The owners Jeremy and Barbara let us have our room early on arrival which was on the front of the house. The room was very clean with a great en-suite and new flat screen TV. There was some road noise but it quietens down after 10pm. Breakfast had a good variety with oatcakes if your preferred to the traditional cooked breakfast and homemade marmalade. As mentioned previously Jeremy offered good discounts on three resturants in the town. We used the Castle pub and Spice Cottage Curry house, both meals were very tasty with good portion sizes. Bakewell is a great base to explore all the Peak District has to offer. In terms of towns we visited Buxton and Matlock. For us the highlight was the village of Castleton, gateweay to the many walks around Mam Tor which we climbed on a sunny but very cold day. The village has some great real ale pubs which pleased my husband. In Bakewell itself we walked the Monsal trail which runs on the old railway line, it was flat and great for walkers of all ages. Back at the B&B there were plenty of leaflets and tourist guide books to ensure you made the most of your stay. Overall a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the back of the B&B. The 2 attic rooms have a narrow stairway unsuitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other guests. We really appreciate the comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Its interesting to read what pleases our guests and our location is usually a top scorer as it was for you. We are pleased you also enjoyed some of our newer introductions too, the home made marmalade and oatcakes.
We do hope you will stay with us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We used trip advisor to highlight a good place to stay for a few days and this featured prominently in terms of homely touches and a high quality stay.

The patrons are lovely - as all the reviews state, they are very friendly but never in your face and offer good advice and info on where to go and what to see. Similarly as stated before, their business card gets decent (20% off total bill or 1 main free etc) discount from a number of well reputed establishments in Bakewell.

Our bedroom was very comfortable, warm and well furnished (it was the outside room which gave us a bit of "space" in case our child was noisy).

Barbara whipped us up a great packed lunch on request to take to Chatsworth House, with home made touches and seemed very good value for the cost.

The location is perfect - 5 minute walk into the centre of town but peaceful and not too noisy as it's set back off the main road. The only downside is already being addressed in that it was very light with a street light outside the room, but I was told that they have black out blinds ready to be assembled when Jeremy has 5 minutes of free time.

Breakfast was lovely too, great local ingredients lovingly prepared. Yummy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank originalmiscellany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other guests. We really appreciate the comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the home made picnic. We do hope you will stay with us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from our second (and certainly not last) visit to this welcoming B & B, perfectly situated for walking into Bakewell. The Haven provides a friendly base from which to visit the rest of the Peak District with clean rooms and excellent breakfasts (particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!) Discounts on local restaurants were also appreciated. Thanks to Jeremy and Barbara for a great stay. We look forward to revisiting in the not too distant future and certainly recommend The Haven to anyone looking for a short break in the Peaks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and for returning to the Haven. We are pleased you enjoyed our newly extended breakfast menu and our restaurant recommendations. We do hope to see you again some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at The Haven the first week end in Ocober and it was really comfortable and friendly. The room was very clean and welcoming and both Jeremy and Barbera were good company. We took advantage of the local italian restaurants discount and (despite a very raucous hen-party) really enjoyed that also.

The Haven is five minutes walking distance from the town centre and directly across the road from a lovely park which takes you to the river.

We would certainly go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ziacesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experiences we appreciate your contribution. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We do hope you will return some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

2 nights for family get together Jeremy offers good discounts on local restaurants. Breakfast very tasty and car parking made walking into town easy and was particularly good on day of departure as we were able to leave car and go to market, well worth a visit.
We made a mistake over our deposit and Jeremy took prompt action to make sure we did not overpay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easterntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven we appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you found us a good place to stay when you had your family get together.
We have negotiated the discounts at local restaurants that we have found to be the best and most consistent for ourselves and our guests and its good to know you enjoyed your time there too. Thank you for crediting me with the action with the overpayment but I have to pass that on to Barbara who realised you had paid me too much on departure and wrote a note to place under your windscreen wiper to ensure you didn't leave our car park without being reimbursed.
We do hope you will return to stay with us some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Both Jeremy and Barbara were so welcoming and such super hosts.Our room was very clean and warm with a large ensuite and a very comfortable bed with good bedlinen.Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice,from full English breakfast to oatcakes or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.
Would'nt hesitate to recommend and would stay here again if visiting this lovely area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireLass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven and share your experience. It's good to hear you found your room comfortable and clean and enjoyed trying out our new extended menu at breakfast. We do hope you will return to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#12 of 44 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing