We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Haven B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bakewell
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
264
42
14
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
42
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoatcakespeak districttown centrehaddon hallfresh fruit saladguest loungelovely hostsfive minute walkpointing dog and duckwarm welcomefull english breakfastlovely coupleideal locationthe riverweekend staya great staythe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 324 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We used trip advisor to highlight a good place to stay for a few days and this featured prominently in terms of homely touches and a high quality stay.

The patrons are lovely - as all the reviews state, they are very friendly but never in your face and offer good advice and info on where to go and what to see. Similarly as stated before, their business card gets decent (20% off total bill or 1 main free etc) discount from a number of well reputed establishments in Bakewell.

Our bedroom was very comfortable, warm and well furnished (it was the outside room which gave us a bit of "space" in case our child was noisy).

Barbara whipped us up a great packed lunch on request to take to Chatsworth House, with home made touches and seemed very good value for the cost.

The location is perfect - 5 minute walk into the centre of town but peaceful and not too noisy as it's set back off the main road. The only downside is already being addressed in that it was very light with a street light outside the room, but I was told that they have black out blinds ready to be assembled when Jeremy has 5 minutes of free time.

Breakfast was lovely too, great local ingredients lovingly prepared. Yummy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other guests. We really appreciate the comments and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the home made picnic. We do hope you will stay with us again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from our second (and certainly not last) visit to this welcoming B & B, perfectly situated for walking into Bakewell. The Haven provides a friendly base from which to visit the rest of the Peak District with clean rooms and excellent breakfasts (particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!) Discounts on local restaurants were also appreciated. Thanks to Jeremy and Barbara for a great stay. We look forward to revisiting in the not too distant future and certainly recommend The Haven to anyone looking for a short break in the Peaks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and for returning to the Haven. We are pleased you enjoyed our newly extended breakfast menu and our restaurant recommendations. We do hope to see you again some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at The Haven the first week end in Ocober and it was really comfortable and friendly. The room was very clean and welcoming and both Jeremy and Barbera were good company. We took advantage of the local italian restaurants discount and (despite a very raucous hen-party) really enjoyed that also.

The Haven is five minutes walking distance from the town centre and directly across the road from a lovely park which takes you to the river.

We would certainly go back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank ziacesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experiences we appreciate your contribution. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We do hope you will return some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

2 nights for family get together Jeremy offers good discounts on local restaurants. Breakfast very tasty and car parking made walking into town easy and was particularly good on day of departure as we were able to leave car and go to market, well worth a visit.
We made a mistake over our deposit and Jeremy took prompt action to make sure we did not overpay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easterntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven we appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you found us a good place to stay when you had your family get together.
We have negotiated the discounts at local restaurants that we have found to be the best and most consistent for ourselves and our guests and its good to know you enjoyed your time there too. Thank you for crediting me with the action with the overpayment but I have to pass that on to Barbara who realised you had paid me too much on departure and wrote a note to place under your windscreen wiper to ensure you didn't leave our car park without being reimbursed.
We do hope you will return to stay with us some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Both Jeremy and Barbara were so welcoming and such super hosts.Our room was very clean and warm with a large ensuite and a very comfortable bed with good bedlinen.Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice,from full English breakfast to oatcakes or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.
Would'nt hesitate to recommend and would stay here again if visiting this lovely area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireLass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven and share your experience. It's good to hear you found your room comfortable and clean and enjoyed trying out our new extended menu at breakfast. We do hope you will return to us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews