We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best and the original Bakewell Pudding!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloomers of Bakewell

Bloomers of Bakewell
Ranked #5 of 16 Shopping in Bakewell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bloomers of Bakewell is a bakery established in this lovely English town for more than 100 years. Most famous for being the proud producer of Bloomers Original Bakewell Puddings with a recipe more than 135 years old. We're thrilled to have won a one star award at the 2015 Great Taste Awards - national recognition for the fine puddings we make. Open every day of the week, we serve a fine array of Pies, Puddings and Tarts - so drop in and see what takes your fancy!
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best and the original Bakewell Pudding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

You have to try these - hot, with cream or custard ... oh my word!!! Even lovelier than Bakewell tarts :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NikkiRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out and writing a lovely comment.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your purchases.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    9
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food ,great staff, great prices This bakery is a little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visiting Bakewell with our three young children we passed a few bakeries and noticed how expensive their prices were sausage rolls were , around £1.90 each. they charged for warming them up! Thinking this was expensive we looked around a few more shops and came across BLoomers bakery which on the board outside said it was passed down from four generations . We looked in the window and saw tasty sausage rolls were less then 80 p and this shop did not charge for warming them up . The children had their s rolls and my husband and I had Cornish pasties they were excellent, tasty, yummy and homemade. The lady was helpful and friendly . Would definitely return. Gem of a bakery great, food, prices and staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparks65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thankyou very much for taking time out and leaving a wonderful comment.
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed some of our homemade treats, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pies, pastries and puddings. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Purchased 2 Bakewell Puddings, what I would call a cornish pasty and an amazing beef and Stilton pie.

Staff were very polite and had a great sense of humour, service was timely and excellent value for money.

The food I took home for dinner and made a family of 4 very very happy.
From the outside the shop may look a little small but there seemed to be an amazing selection of different cheeses, pies, etc.

Would recommend to friends.

Helpful?
4 Thank LukeA-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review, we are pleased that you enjoyed sampling some of our tasty treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Well a pudding or a tart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

First visit to bakewell and you do what the Romans do in Rome,I bought a bakewell pudding,but realised it's not what I expected,disappointed,I returned and flavoured a tart and this was mouth a watering experience,great taste,although the price didn't justify paying the amount of money,bit disappointedq,but the experience made up for the pudding,tart tasting!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Bakewell Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had 2 hours to spend in Bakewell so went round the cakes and pastry shops. The food was excellent, all home baked. We also sampled the local farm shops meats and brought home some delicious pies scotch eggs and sausages. The toilets in the town were also spotless. We definitely will return. All the staff and locals were friendly and helpful. A lovely find!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomers of Bakewell also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Bloomers of Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing