We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Devonshire Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Views from the rear garden,there is also a small village recreation area to the right
Chatsworth house and park land
We've got beautiful walks from Devonshire Cottage along the river to Chatsworth Bridge
Chatsworth House & beautiful gardens to walk around,get lost in the maze,picnic on the lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
714angeli...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a quaint Cottage in a lovely setting. Country pub across the square and very well situated for days out in the Peak District.
Cottage is very well presented with everything you need. Feels very homely and you can instantly relax. Excellent views of Chatsworth Estate from the garden. Bottle of wine on arrival much apprecited. The owner (Marlene ) lives next door and was helpful with any queries we had. We had to ask how to use the induction hob as we were not familiar with how these work.
The stairs are the original ones & turn at the top without a banister , so may not be suitable for everyone .
We would not hesitate to return to the cottage should we wish to revisit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldbyron
london
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful Digs in Devonshire Cottage”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was one of many stays to the Peaks over the years but the first stay in Devonshire Cottage. I can highly recommend this cottage which is tastefully decorated and situated in one of the prettiest villages in the Peaks. The village is on the Chatsworth estate and is roughly a 20 min walk or 5 min drive from Chatsworth House itself. The cottage is in the centre of the village and within seconds of the Devonshire Arms pub (reviewed by the main broadsheets) and The Old Smithy - great place for breakfast. It is also very close to Bakewell which is my favourite Peaks town.

The non attached neighbours were very friendly and I later realised the owners live on the other side (we met Rob I think who was also very friendly). Marlene was also excellent at responding to any pre stay emails asking questions. I felt they were there if I needed them but were also non intrusive which I think is the perfect balance.

The cottage is lovely - comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, nice furnishings and lovely garden views to admire. The car parking space was tight but it's an old cottage so it goes with the territory. I love local history so was fascinated with the cottage interior and would love to know about who had lived there over the years.

We will definitely return to Devonshire Cottage - I know you can book directly with Marlene (which may save overall as the holiday sites include a booking fee I think) if you grab the details on the sign outside the house. A very happy stay in the Peaks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KJF85
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is by far the best cottage we have stayed in, all the fixtures and fittings were of a very high standard and the cottage was beautiful. Having owned our own holiday cottage we know just how much effort, hard work and attention to detail goes into creating and maintaining such a beautiful home, and it does feel like home. The area is beautiful and Beeley is a perfect place to be based to explore this part of the Peak District. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone. Thank You Marlene, see you again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy, a real home from home
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing